Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Tim's email and my response (I've been a bad bad girl, ha.)

31 July 2000

Letter from Tim


Tim

Aglaia, what's up this is Tim.

Hey how's your summer been, done anything interesting? All I do is work, but I really love it. Serving is great--the only problem is now I can't stand hostessing. It doesn't even matter if I don't make any money...it's just a lot more fun, and the people are cool. Of course it helps when I *do* make good money (I made 96 bucks this morning during brunch, that was cool! ;)

I'm not doing much with the money though; just saving for next summer's study abroad program for Greece. I wanted to have 2000 dollars by Sept. 1st, but I only have 800 right now. Who knows...I guess I still have one more month. I am going to Washington D.C. tomorrow until Thursday. My sis is moving there. I guess it should feel weird that she's moving out of the state and such...but it doesn't really. I guess even when she was here and not in college I never saw that much of her. I'm sure I will miss her (it's still nice to see her in spurts here and there) but we've always been a little in different worlds. I hope maybe when we're both a little older we'll be more on the same level and be able to friends. Or maybe that's just a cheesy movie pictoral we're all just kind of hoping for.

>I know we havn't talked for awhile but I was wondering whats up.

Excited about school yet? Are you seeing anyone? I'm enjoying my summer, but I've been fighting with my mom a lot, and it always stresses me out when we're like this. It'll be nice to get out and get away from her. I think a lot of the tension/friction between her and Nicole about moving and such is sort of being passed a long to me....

I dont know if these are true but I heard you started rolling and drinking.

I'm not going to lie, I drink occasionally at school, but wouldn't exactly call me the party drinker or anything. I usually drank once a week, and usually not more than two beers. But I don't have to justify it. I like drinking and didn't start to conform or "fit in." I have no problem going somewhere and not drinking if I don't want to. But sometimes I do (want to).

About E, I tried it once back in November. I was always such the anti-drug girl (and I still think that's a great way to be!) but I met a guy in one of my classes who really opened up my viewpoint concerning a lot of things. It didn't mean I was going to go out and start doing all kinds of drugs, or even particular drugs everyday. I went to a rave (because he asked), tried E (because I wanted to) and I had a great time. I know of people who do it every weekend. I'm not really into that. My grades are still first, but I'm glad I tried it, and I don't regret anything I've done.

It's interesting how you can be so opposed to someone and a type of people and not really know anything about them or their way of life. I'm not endorsing drug use, or promoting that whole scene. But I think I'm definitly a lot less judgmental. The girls I hang out with at school don't do anything like that, and I don't plan on taking it up. I liked my experience but it wasn't anything crazy (or life changing as some have claimed ;) it was just something that was presented to me, and I decided to take a chance.

I don't usually do that. Sometimes it's good to explore different parts of yourself.

I also heard you joined a soroity and are dating a frat dude.

After about a quarter of struggling to get to know the girls in my dorm, who were really anti-social and locked up in their rooms I wanted to do something that would allow me to meet more people. It was too easy to just call Kathryn or Dan and see if they wanted to hook up. My biggest gripe with OSU, was that I *would* already know people. I wanted to get away from everyone. Sort of randomly, and suddenly I went through RUSH and found myself in a sorority house.

I love it.

I've always had a circle of guy friends and maybe one or two close girlfriends I would hang out with. All of a sudden to have this group of girls--older and younger--to support me, to go out with, to learn about...it was really awesome. The girls are great, really nice, and because of them, I've met their friends and so on.

Sure there's the party scene, and I really like going out and dancing or whatever, but the greek system...it's definitly something you have to be in...a part of...before you really get it.

As for the guy I'm dating; yep he's in a fraternity, Sigma Chi. He's really sweet, an incredible artist (he's in the design school) and is nothing like the cliche of a "frat boy".

If that is true what's up, I thought you were totally against those things--

I used to be against a lot of things. It's not that I'm a free-for-all now, I think I just accept people and things in different ways. I'm still me, but I have changed, I have grown. Am I better off than I was a year ago? I think I am, I think..."better" may be the wrong word--how can you really compare? This past year in college was probably the happiest I've been my whole life.

Sounds better to me.

like when we used to make fun of Dan for being so "cool" since he would drink and go to party's.

;) I remember. I don't think I've exactly been swaggering around bragging about my experiences. I'm doing what I'm doing, but I don't think I'm "cooler" than you for it. I don't think I'm better or know better or anything like that. Parties, drinking....all the college cliches, it's sort of what you make of it, on your own. I think I've proved at least for me, that I can make Dean's list, and can attend class and go out with friends as well. I've found a balance I like. We've heard it all before, but moderation really is the key.

I dont know if these things are true but I hope they aren't because I never knew you to conform so much. If these things are untrue I am sorry and forget everything I said. write back. Peace.

Call it conforming, call it whatever. I still have my quirks, my philosophies, my own personal outlook on everything. I don't throw my nose in the air cuz I'm in a sorority, it's not like that at all. It's just like being in any other club, is sort of how I look at it. You get together with people you like, doing something together you like. It doesn't mean I exclude the rest of the people in my life or anything silly like that.

Talk to you later,

Aglaia.


Tim is the guy I dated in HS. He's my first oral experience, Scudly. Haha. (sort of a private joke ;) [A terrible experience at that, I thought I would be scarred from oral sex for the rest of my dating career...ah, but not so...]

Anway, dear Timmy was the source of a lot of relationship agnst, and thank goodness I got out of there when I did. It probably could have been shortened by a couple of months or so--but anyway.

Even though Tim did drugs (although claimed to "not do that anymore" when we were dating--though, I knew he smoked and drank socially) I was never allowed to. Well, allowed is a strange word for the situation, I never reallly wanted to. Okay, actually that's lying because I was curious, and would have tried it perhaps at some of the parties he had took me to, but seriously by that point I had worked myself up to such a state of high and mighty "I don't do that" position, there's no way I could even dip my toes into that mess of a pool, without being burned or "hypocrite" being yelled.

But that's okay. Still happy I really didn't try it until later. And yeah, I sort of lied about the whole E thing. I mean, yeah I did try it once in November. [But] I also tried it again in March (ha ha.) And actually, if I was in the position to try some, I would try shrooms, and i could go to another rave, I would definitly want to go on e again.

And I sort of drinked more than that, but (uh details..).

I'm figuring he knows I tried E either because of Holly or because of Tommy. I'm surprised Tommy would tell Tim that, even though they are friends. Sort of because I kind of confided to Tommy when I first tried it. And Holly, I can't believe she would tell someone....but Holly loves attention, and drama and scandle, so it's always possible it popped out "accidentally." Either way...I don't think I told anyone that I did it over Spring Break. Only the people I went with knew about that.

Ahh, my sister was like, "I heard about you on Spring Break. Lindsey told me you were a wild girl."

Um. I didn't go with a Lindsey.

(La?) But, I was a wild girl, I said while winking to my sister.

Well yeah she said! You lost your v-ginty there. (Don't worry, she's not really hillbilly, she was just playing around. ;)

(What?!) gasp, gasp. I set her straight and told her it was with the *guy* from Spring Break but not *on* Spring Break itself. He did give me head though. (But she doesn't need to know that) Haha, oh i'm pathetic.

Sigh. Wasn't I talking about Timmy here? Anyways, I tried to write it as intelligently and as honestly as I felt I could for Tim's ears.

Conform? Eh, heh, I guess I did. But I can do it all. I'm "special". Any girl who can have a goth best friend and be a cheerleader can conform to society's delights and positions as well as hold her head and own opinions and life. (or something like that.)

c-ya.

Aglaia (P.S....and he didn't even mention all the SEX SEX SEX SEX SEX that I've been having. HAHAHAHHA. okay. I'm done.)






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty