Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Trip to Buenos Aires, Part I

15 November 2004

So, I arrived back from my trip to Buenos Aires, Argentina. It was so much fun and I'm sad to be back home. Maybe it was the drug withdrawl, the trip depression, or the realization of all that is out there and coming back to a different reality, but as soon as I walked in my front door I burst into tears.

It was a painful sadness that throbbed in my heart. I had just been living a crazy life for one week in another city. A different, large, beautiful city that met my craving for big city vision and charge.

I had also been living with two other people with very little private time and I had gotten situated with having the constant social time. I was all at once...alone. It was quiet, in a big house, empty of my family, in the middle of a boring suburb, surrounded by houses that all look the same and all contain the same people.

I know it was just a vacation and that makes things different. But I love when you're in a different city and everything is new. Each person you meet is an experience, a cherished memory. I had a really nice time and...I think most of all, I liked the people. Okay, so I didn't understand most of them (for all the Spanish I've taken I was pretty terrible) but for those I was able to communicate with, it was so nice, and fresh and new and wonderful.

I am so lonely and bored in my own home city. I like how in a big city you meet a mix of backgrounds, of lifestyles, of ages of history. I like being able to walk around everywhere and having taxis zip by and feeling the thrill of a city's energy. I like that I can do nothing but walk a big city's streets and marval at the tall buildings and the constant flow of cars and people and be perfectly entertained.







Our trip began on Friday afternoon as we drove to the airport. Karl provided a "special" brownie for the trip. I was slightly concerned with taking it on the airplane but we were never searched and it doesn't have a scent or taste of weed at all. I've never had a pot brownie but I hear they're potent. Karl said he ate a small nuget before going into work just to taste it and just that small amount got him high.

Jeff and I were cautious. I ate half my brownie on our short trip to Washington D.C. where we would layover for an hour before departing for B.A. I didn't feel anything from it at all. Until...we had some delays getting out of Ohio and so by the time we reached D.C. we literally RAN to our gate and made it on as the last flyers...on final boarding call. (whew).

My mouth was completely stripped from moisture. I'm sure part of it was the hefty run with the luggage up stairs, etc. but I think part of it had to do with the brownie. The run must have helped "activate" its powers because I found myself nicely buzzed after settling down into my seat. Jeff and I were seated together but Karl was not. I ended up switching out with Karl because Jeff wanted someone to talk to and I apparently "only slept or read a book." Which, I supposed was true so I didn't feel too bad about it, other than it would have been nice to have him by my side for such a long flight.

The brownie mostly just made me sleepy...which, was what we hoped it would do and hopefully pass the flight away quickly. Unfortunately, I fell asleep too early and woke up in the middle of the night in a cramped, awful "get me out of here!" way. It didn't have anything to do with the drugs...mostly I was just sick of the small space we had and the rude guy in front of me that kept his seat back the whole time crushing my long legs and making any meal or drink service an inconvenience on top of what I was already experiencing.

We finally arrived on Saturday morning...something like 12 hours later. We had a private car pick us up which was nice and fun. The ride in displayed a dirty, run down area but slowly emerged into the city. There were parts that looked quite nice and others that kept that dungy appeal. The economy is poor and struggling and I think the city shows it. We stayed at a hotel right off the main avenue (largest in the whole world) so we were in an excellent position (the "microcenter" of the city).

I was pleasantly surprised to find that our three bed-room was actually two physical rooms. The beds were tiny (singles) but our side room also had a full bath so we had two full showers. I took the "private" room and was happy to have a place to keep all my girly stuff and have my own shower. It made getting ready in the morning/night great because I could just shut my door and do my thing and not have to worry about walking around in a towel or changing in a tiny bathroom (that's the worst).

We left the hotel and began walking and ended up on Florida street which is a huge road, pedestrians only, for shopping and eating and just general strolling. We did some window shopping and ended up at a little sidewalk cafe. Of course, the menu was in Spanish and we didn't understand anyone. I went with a "safe" choice and had the raviolies. The pasta was fresh and good but the sauce was thin and weak. It also tasted a bit "off." I'm not sure what was wrong or different...perhaps too much wed wine in the sauce or something but I wasn't crazy about it.

-------
--ooh, gotta run, promise to fill in more soon...and if I don't--email me!!






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty