Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Trip to Buenos Aires, Part II

17 November 2004

Continuing from Part I I begin again...

So we had just finished our first meal in Buenos Aires. It was a nice little cafe to people watch. The weather was cooler than I would have hoped but not terrible. A man sat down beside our table by ourself and overheard us speaking English and popped his head in. He greeted himself and we started a nice conversation with our first "real" Argentinian. He was about 60 years old but definitely had that young spark to him.

We discussed our lives and why we were there and he continued on about different things we could do or see. The subject also heavily fell into politics. It's interesting, because Ohio is such a random state that I doubt most people in the US know where it is let alone a whole 'nother country across the world. But, good ol' CNN put us on the map with the whole voting Kerry/Bush fiasco. He was not happy with Ohio.

But then again, nor were we. Hey, we said--WE didn't vote for him! We all shook our heads together and discussed our sadness for the poor way the country has been headed and will likely continue to go in. It's too bad that the whole world hates the United States and the fools who voted for Bush...I really don't think they get it. There are plenty of reasons to have not voted for Bush...but the fact that our standing in the world right night is frightfully pathetic...that we're probably creating more hate and problems rather than curing any lost 'terrorism' is...well, practically enough reason to NOT vote for Bush in the first place.

SO, we talked politics for awhile and our new friend seemed relieved to know that not everyone in the US is crazy and a big supporter. He also seemed please that it was the youth that supported Kerry. That although our country is not doing so well and may not do so well for years to come that eventually our generation will make it through and begin to change things around.







Well, I was bored of listening to Mr. Garcias after awhile...not that talking shop isn't all great but it was our first day in BA and I wanted to get out and do some more exploring....and, I was getting pretty cold just sitting in the shade and not moving ;)

We exchanged information and said we might meet up later. He apparently is a wholesaler for leather goods (a fine item in BA) and we thought we might get in touch with him later to purchase some items.

The exchange rate in BA for an American is just awesome. You really do feel like a King there. The prices to appear about what we would spend here...except it's in pesos making it look like in dollars...a 60% off sale--everywhere you went!







After wandering around some more we head back to the hotel for a late afternoon siesta. We do not get up until quite late and decide to go to "El Palacio de la Papa Frita" --a steak restaurant my guidebook and Mr. Garcias had recommended. Anything with a delicious "papa frita" (french fries) can't be bad, right? The restaurant was simple in style (actually, kind of looked like a cafeteria...except with white linins--as did many restaurants). Our service was excellently performed (all very proper) and I went with a local specialty--something like a milanese (sp?) that is a breaded steak, fried with ham, cheese and usually some sauce on top. I like my meats VERY well done (think crunch) so I figured this would be another safe choice, which it was. The "papas fritas" were homemade and puffy. Absolutely delicious :)

From there we went to Puerto Madero a nice section of town along the Port in search of bars. First we went to a bar that reminded me of some cheesy college place. Ugh, they were even playing American pop music. It had bad service, bad music and was full of boring, bored people. We decided to go downstairs which was a little better. They were playing loud techno music but it wasn't the best. Most of all I couldn't get past the crowd.

I know it's terrible, but ugh. There were far too many "mom's & dad's" poorly dancing and making out for me to really enjoy the music. We leave there a bit later and go into Asia De Cuba (pronounced "Ah-c-Ah" de Coo-ba-- not "A-Sha" de Q-ba) which was funny to me for some reason. I guess because it was obviously an Asian inspired place....but there is no real "sha" sound in the Spanish language. Anyway...

It was a stylish place with a great atmosphere. Lots of nice looking people, more dancing, better house music as the night went on. I think it would have been a really great place to party at....except, I was wearing a heavy long-sleeved top, a long coat, a big satchel like purse that constantly slips of my shoulder. I love to dance but it needs to be under the right conditions. I was bored because the drinks were too strong and I couldn't dance because (1)I was dying from the heat due to my unacceptable clothing (most of the girls there were appropriately dressed in fashionable sleeveless tops of some sort) and (2) I just can't dance when I've got all this stuff in my hands like a coat, a drink a purse, etc.

I know I was being cranky and Jeff wasn't really happy about it but it's like...fuck, how am I supposed to act? YEAHHH, I am so excited to be bored out of my mind and hot? It's not that it was a bad bar...if anything I was disappointed I couldn't really enjoy it because there was no place for me to safely put my coat or purse (pretending I wasn't already sweating like a monster even though I wasn't dancing).

I considered going back on my own but I didn't want to be "that girl." Especially not on our first night out. So I tried my hardest to at least be pleasant or nonexistent and not all bitter and bored inside. We pretty much closed the place down leaving after 5am meeting day break.

As we walked out of the bar it was amazing to think we were staring at an early Sunday morning. There were so many taxis and just random people walking around you'd think it was the afternoon or something. We went back to the hotel and tried to get some sleep before we had to get up and go on our city tour which began at 9am.

I felt bad because I think Jeff wanted to fool around but to be honest, I was tired and just wanted to sleep. Partly because it was late/early and partly b/c I didn't want to be a complete waste during our tour later on. I randomly woked up at 8:45am. I have no idea how that happened. I tried to wake the boys but they would just roll over.

Finally the tour people called our room and we went downstairs. Ah, how pretty we all looked ;) The tour was okay but I was tired and hungry so I don't know how much I really enjoyed it.

We visited different districts of the city and walked through a lot of street fairs and open air markets. Sunday is a big day for people to come to the streets. Plenty of street performers and little booths set up to sell stuff everywhere. We had a choice to get back on the bus where they would take us back or to continue on where our last stop was. We decided to just stay and walk around. Did that for awhile before heading to the Recoleta district.

They have this Recoleta Cementary that is basically this small village where the rich and famous are buried. "Headstones" are small buildings, at least 10' tall--think shrines to the dead. I'm not sure how big the actual cemetary is but you could definitely get lost in it walking around the small city of the dead. It was interesting to see the different creations to honor each person. Outside the cemetary was another huge open grassy area with lots of people selling stuff.

It was a great area with performers and sunbathers and just all kinds of people, backgrounds and ages strolling and taking in the day. Came back to the hotel in the late afternoon by which I was really feeling like a gross greaseball. Took a nap then we got ready to go out. Jeff said Wed-Sun were big nights to go out so I figured I would be appropriately dressed for some good dancing and I prepared in my low cut jeans and a bust baring top. I substituted my camera case for a purse and when "sin" (or "without") coat.

It was freakin cold outside! Haha, but I was prepared to tough in out in preparation of some hot club. Well, it never appeared. We ended up going back to Asia for dinner. It's a restaurant first then they move the tables out to create a club at night. I chose beef fajitas over the sushi (very good) and the boys enjoyed their meals as well. The place was incredibly dark creating kind of a hushed atmosphere.

We found out the club was not open on Sunday which was fine but disappointing. Service is very relaxed in BA. We later found out you are supposed to wave to your server at every step of the way. From the moment you (self seat) yourself to when you're ready to order, get another drink, get your change, get your check, etc. We, being nice, polite Americans would wait to be seated (until we finally figured out they didn't do that). Then we would wait for a lifetime for our server to finally come over and serve us a drink. Then another forever to order our meal, and so on.

Haha, we pretty much closed Asia down...except this time it was because we didn't know to ask for our check and so we just sat there staring at empty bottles of drink and empty plates. Ahhh..

We walked for a long time around Puerto Madero but NOTHING was opened. It appeared, that Sunday's were NOT a big hangout night. Walking lonely in an abandoned part of town we had some trouble even finding a cab. It was very windy being near the river and I'm dressed in this whored out outfit feeling quite silly.

We get back to the hotel where I promptly get a coat and we head off to another bar called Kilkenny, which I found out is some sort of Irish beer. I wonder if that's why they like to say "Kill Kenny" but anyway...

The bar...was this cheesy, American like place. Loud, drunk young people. I felt very out of place once again. We didn't know anyone, the beer sucked and I just stood in a lonely corner trying not to look as pathetic as I felt. I was ready to go right away but we stayed for a pretty long while. I don't think the boys were having that great of a time either but I think they felt some obligation to stay out since we were on vacation. Finally, we left.

It was our hope to book an excursion trip for Tues-Thursday so we spent most of the day going from different agencies and airlines to try to find something available but could not. We were even willing to pay some money but there just were not any flights open or going on the time we needed....from most places, nothing open for weeks!

During the day I experience the terribleness of just not knowing the lanugage. I was surprised by how few knew English. I mean, I knew I was in South America but the guidebooks had given me the impression that most people would be bilingual. I go to a post office and it is sickly hot and buzzing with business. There are two lines. One is long and slow. The other is for those who are taking numbers. I have no idea what the difference is.

I stand there for awhile, confused, take a ticket, but get into the long, slow line. I continue to look around hoping I can just will the knowledge into me but from all my observations I could not see any difference between the two lines except one was called by number. The people that had a number were definitly moving through quicker so I didn't understand why others weren't taking a number. BUT, since I don't know my numbers too well I was scared I would take one...be called and not even know it!

Haha, so I stand in line for what feels like at least 35+ minutes. The boys are at the money exchange and apparently experience the long lines there as well. I get the front and I ask if the woman if she speaks English (no) so I know the word for stamps which I point to my postcard and am able to (barely) understand how much it costs (4 pesos) and am on my jolly way (hey, they still haven't received that post card and that was sent 8 days ago, but ok ;)

Well, this is getting a bit to "this is what I did today" boring so I'm gonna go. More later...I promise there's something good in here! ;)






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty