Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

BA III

22 November 2004

Okay, so you've read Part I and Part II and it's like get to the good stuff already.

And even though I've only been home for a week my poor memory is already fading so here is just a random, out of order free listing Aglaia brain experience. I'm sure I already discussed some before, but it's more for me than it is for you ;) I promise one day I'll actually get around to talking about Creamfields, where the real fun begins!

  • The city is huge.

My first thought was a giddy glee that Buenos Aires is like NYC...except bigger! During the course of the week I realized that I could actually live there. No, I was not experiencing vacation bliss where you desperately think about how you can stay there forever (and ahem, never return to the real world?) but this was a realization, or, I suppose, a confirmation that I *love* big cities. There is just something right in my heart when I'm in a place like that.

I like the buzz and energy of everything around you. I like especially walking. Did I mention I hate to drive? I think big cities bring in a certain kind of diversity too. Big cities are a challenge because I'm such a suburb girl I'm forced to recognize my surroundings in new ways. And, conveniently, a big city life gives you things to look at. Constantly. And while I'm sure I'd get used to it, I still find myself in awe of it all even after staring at the same places on our main strip all week.

This was no cheesy cancun or a (literal) walk on the beach. This was a vibrant city, full of friendly people, where I didn't understand a darn thing, but experienced and intense desire to learn its language. I have always liked Spanish. It is unfortunate...but I'm terrible at it. I do try, really, but I just don't pick up language quick. I need lots of patience, a lot of repeating (in all sorts of ways) and true, constant focus to really remember all that it has to offer.

But, spending a week there, I thought, I could probably learn the language doing this. Especially if you lived with a family or had a friend that knew both English and Spanish who could handle your constant thirst like a little child, pointing at everything and asking "what's this?" "como so dice" that.

  • I thought you guys liked your steak well done?

The guidebooks claimed BA had some of the best steak in the world. The boys I was with claimed it was. The books also said that Argentinians (sp?) like their steak well done and it would actually be hard to find it rare. This sounded wonderful to me. When I say well done, I mean it. Or, even better...crunchy. Juicy, tender? Yuck! Lol. No, the more you can make it taste less like it can from flesh the better. *Shudder* I just have a hard time eating something when I think about where it came from.

But, obviously, well done to me is not well done to others. I figured I wouldn't get it as well done as I wanted (not many restaurants do, I understand) but to me, well done means there is no pink left. It may still have some juice in it, but it is cooked all the way through.

The steaks I got were definitly bleeding. I ate my steak one night. I think I ordered it like 3-4 times and I was only able to eat it once. I'm so proud of myself. My instinct after slicing it open was to shudder, run and not touch a thing on my plate again. But, I stuck it out and ate a good portion of it.

It was probably the most 'done' of all the steaks I had but it was awfully squishy and red. The flavor was fine, it's the texture that really gets to me. Thankfully the hot pepper sauce gave my mouth something else to think about rather than the soft middle of the meat.

  • I don't think people sleep much...

I like BA's time schedule. I would much rather stay up late and go into work later....even if that means working later. Attitude is also relaxed. Everyone takes generous breaks, enjoys coffee & tea (yerba mate!) and lunches go for hours as I imagine dinner does too.

  • They like techno music!

Okay, I'm sure not everyone does, but enough people do that you can find it at least in half the bars/clubs. It is so nice and so refreshing to hear that kind of music being played in so many places and people actually liking it. I'm so sick of pop, rock and r&b they play on the radio.

I mean, of course I like a little bit of it all, my real gripe is probably with clear channel for dominating everything and playing the same tune for five years straight on it's "top ten" so that everyone is brainwashed into thinking that is the only music available. There are so many musicians, so many genres and it's rediculous how boxed in we are.

I also hate saying techno music. I prefer progressive house and melodic trance. Techno is this generic term that produces cheesy bass lines in my head. I know there's an actual sect. called "techno" but it's a nice generic term to get your meaning across. Electronic music also doesn't quite get the same message, as I see too many pops & squeeks rather than music.

I like prog. house because that's what Jeff plays. It's what I'm exposed to. I'm sure there's a ton more out there that I would also enjoy but I have no access to it, as does most people. It is fun in away to be living in this whole other world where you're enjoying something so much and so few people really realize it exists. There is desire to shade and protect it (as with the best indie music) but there's also that calling to share and expose it. You *want* people to hear it because it's just that good that it's terrible knowing that people don't know about it.

I think people that don't like "techno" haven't heard anything good. Plus, there are so many different genres of the music that I'm sure there's something to please everyone. The music really is amazing. It can influence so many different moods and feelings.

Plus, the culture of dance music is just a different set of people. Maybe I've just been lucky but club people (the 'real' people--there for the music, not just for the scene--or the drugs) are the nicest people around. There is something bonding about the music (okay, so that might be the drugs, but...). I do think, though, that people that enjoy 'techno' in its truest sense are a different sort of people. They just get it.

The music does something to you. And once you've really experienced it you can't ever take that away. I think that's what bonds people. It's the kind of thing that floats into your soul and permeates it, but in a good way. :) So when you get people who don't like it...it's kind of heart crushing b/c you know...you just know they are missing out on something. Plus, it kind of shows a character that is not the kind that I like.

I know that's weird, to base an opinion of someone on what they listen to--and that's not a completely honest statement. I have plenty of good friends that don't listen to it, but I guess it just goes back to "getting it" and when you feel like you know something...that's good and true and someone else doesn't...there's no real way to show or teach that. It just happens.

Okay, getting way too deep about music. If you know what I mean...you do, but for those who don't--I'm getting a little crazy ;)

But anyway, the music in BA is great because there's a real market for it. Also, being a large cosmo city there a lots of cool little bars and restaurants that have such an awesome atmosphere, it makes you sick when you come back home and everything just sucks. Step it up, Ohio!

Well, hate to do it again, but I gotta run.

In 2000 I was (obviously) PMSing and expericing the terrible poor me syndrome.

In 2001 I had nothing to say, apparently.

In 2002 I am *still* being a perfectionist and worrying about every single grade I get.

In 2003 I was having a bummer thought train.

I sure do complain, a lot, huh?!






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty