Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Work life, financial intelligence

02 July 2004

Oh, that last entry was depressing. Where am I now?

I suppose better. We both cooled down, were still annoyed when we talked again and eventually just let it past. I don't know....I go back and forth between being bored and looking forward to taking our relationship to another level. I think we're just at that point where we both feel stunted. Not necessarily because of each other just in our lives in general.

Something needs to come in and shake it up; er, we need to go out and shake something up. Just get involved with something, move, go somewhere, do something. It's more of the humdrum of life that's dragging us down, and I think all these other issues that were issues before (he's still looking for a design job, we both live at home) are inching even closer to terrible.

--Woah, I can see my downtown fireworks from my house (we're about 18 minutes away). I mean I can actually feel the rumble and see the top sparks. I think it's the finale. We have a 30 minute show--that's a whole lotta fireworks. My city claims it's the "best firework show in the midwest" but, eh, who knows--maybe everyone says that? I can't believe Chicago or something doesn't have us beat!!

Anyway, back to Jeff and I we're both just stuck. I'm still getting a lot (learning a lot) from my job but I'm not jumping up with joy about it. And I don't think there's anything even wrong with it, I do like it, and I still feel like I'm growing and dipping my feet into more areas. In fact, I'm even beginning to feel more and more like an "adult" at least a respected professional.

I find that when I go to "networking" sessions or what not I still feel like I'm someone's daughter (probably because I really COULD be someone's daughter--I am consistently the youngest person around). So, I guess I must be doing something right if I'm getting my face out.

I recently won an award for "best new [unexperienced] planner" or --rookie award through this meeting professional organization I'm a part of. That was a nice surprise. Aww, my supervisor looked like she was going to cry she was so proud. Haha, it's kind of weird. I mean, it's great, please she really is, almost like my mentor. And it's great to have an employer who is genuinely interested in helping me get the most out of my job and learn more about the 'planning world' in general.

I know I take what I have for granted b/c I don't have any other "real job" experience to compare it to, but I'm thinking that I have it pretty good where I am. Ha, just having my own office pretty much makes me feel spoiled.


Kind of by random I picked up "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" on book on CD. I had crossed over on Amazon earlier in the day I saw it at the library while looking for something else. Then, when I went to the library just looking in general for something to "read" [er, listen to] I saw it and thought maybe it was a "sign" I should get it.

It was...interesting. I mean, the first half of the book was terrible. It was slow, boring and so common in knowledge I kept yelling at him [the reader] to pick up already and get to the point. But, whether it's a good thing or not, I find that when I listen to a book on tape I usually am too lazy to take out all of the CDs (I have a trunk disc changer) so I end up just listening to the whole thing...even though had I actually been reading the thing out of a book I would have never finished it.

But, the second half of the book really did open my eyes. There was a part on luxuries that kind of had that "ah" moment. It will sound very common sense to relay it but I will try to explain. Basically, he was saying, the RICH earn their luxuries. They don't just go out and buy the big boat, fancy car or nice house. They find sound investments and wait it out until they have MADE the money to purchase these items. So, in a sense the boat, car, house, etc. is a reward for having found a $$$ producing asset.

It is the middle class in their [greed] and desire to keep up with the Jones that they buy the luxury items. They, of course, buy with credit, loan and continue to dig themselves into debt.

Yeah, yeah, you're thinking. But, I guess when I saw 'rich' people with all these toys I never thought of them earning it. I just thought they had all this stuff. I mean, that they have money and they can buy all this stuff but it doesn't mean anything to them. It's more of a jealousy feeling than an appreciation that they EARNED it. And that if I want a luxury item I too must earn it.

And not just I saved my pennies and yaah, I get to buy something, but they have acquired an asset that, in a sense, GAVE them the luxury! I suppose this isn't make any sense, but it kind of woke me up.

Now, I don't carry debt. I only buy what I can pay for and I've never carried a balance on my [2] credit cards. Even when I bought my car I paid back the loan in half the time it was set for and the only debt I have now is my Student Loans which are also coming down pretty quickly.

And the author is quick to point out that 'greed' isn't bad. It actually can drive that passion to find assets that will produce additional income. Each time you find and take advantage of an opportunity you have put yourself closer to financial independence.

There was also a lot of dialogue about people who say they don't care about money and they'll never be rich. That was me. I mean sure, if a bunch of money fell in my lap or if I got a huge raise I wouldn't complain but I just never considered it even an option. Being "rich" just wasn't going to be me--mostly because I tied having money to one's job. I knew that there was not a good chance that I would ever be in a really high paying job...not necessarily because I'm not "worth it" or able, just...

I always saw myself as the "starving artist" and my big break would be just that...some out of the ordinary moment that fortune would come to me. But this book all of a sudden made it a potential reality. That being "rich" had nothing to do with employment but building $$$ producing assets. What's more...is I had never considered any of this before either.

I mean, I had some vague idea that I needed to start saving for retirement and that involved some sort of "better" savings account that helped build my account better than my general savings account from my bank but I had never seriously considered or concerned myself with any of these things.

Another thing...is just that--well, I think he's right that the 'rich' must teach their children differently. Because the idea of stocks and everything else it was never taught and I don't get that. This concept of 'financial intelligence' I don't know if I would say it's more important than our general education (as the author sort of hints at) but I do think it's EQUALLY as important and that it should be taught in schools. But perhaps that's the way the rich get richer and the poor [stay poor] because no one is out there sharing this information.

I don't know if I would recommend the book, my guess is there would be better information out there, but it was a good start for someone who had no knowledge and even any interest in the subject. I say I wouldn't recommend it because it seems a little over the top. He's talking about how rich dad is teaching him and his buddy and they're only 9 [or something close to that] years old. My response? Please!

Yeah, right any nine year old would stick around to learn any of these lessons, this mysterious "rich dad" is teaching them. And even if they did I can't believe he would talk to them as he said it happened in the book. The language was far too sophisticated in times (in concept) and I just don't see a 9 year old being like "yeah!" I mean, I could see how the idea of making money would grab your attention I just don't see as much being absorbed as it supposedly did.

Additionally, the stories of how he made money seem too sensational. I don't doubt that they could happen but they way he described it was too simplistic. And if real estate was such a huge goldmine why are there so many people who know about real estate not doing these things? I don't know, just too many questions left.


The good thing is I am now in persuit of "financial intelligence." If you know of any good books, authors, speakers, seminars or anything related that has helped you or a friend please let me know by signing the guestbook. I would *really* appreciate any feedback/advice anyone has!

Especially if it's geared towards a newbie or 20 something. I am especially interested in learning more stocks and how to make investments in that arena. Some of the best advice in the book was instead of asking people who HAVE money....for money....ask them HOW they made their money, and learn! So I would also be interested in emailing/talking with anyone who HAS money and any general information they may have.

Another thing I liked from the book was when you saw something you wanted but couldn't afford, instead of saying "I can't afford that" you should ask yourself "How can I afford that?" It forces you to think creatively to make that money. Which is the hardest part. I think you really have to re-train your mind to think differently about things. To really see opportunity when it comes around.

I also think that most successful business people have a natural ambitious nature that they are born with. You hear about all these amazing people, especially the rags-to-riches stories and not that I don't buy into the American dream that it can "happen to you if you try hard enough" (although, not completely) I still think there is something passionate that is stirred in some people that not everyone has.

And not that it was easy for them to accomplish what they did but it is easy to sell that story of success because you somehow found that inner drive that so many people lack. How do you awake that force? How do *I* awaken that force?

But I must admit, after reading the book there was something stirring inside of me. (Though, it felt more like greed rather than vision and passion ;) But the idea of being financially independent of my job...not that I wouldn't have to work, but to have something assisting me, so that I'll never be in that position where I'm literally living paycheck to paycheck (and even if you have some left over to enjoy, aren't you still living essentially for that paycheck)? That would be an amazingly freeing feeling.

Plus, all the things he said that if you want in your life...you should be able to do...it was like, "YES! I should be able to do what I want with my life!" If I want to move, I should be able to. If I want to travel I should be able to. But when you're strictly living off your job you don't have freedoms and even if you're happy, you are still tied to the "rat race" and who wants to be a part of that?


Four years ago I was talking about God then getting really boring about a "problem" that now appears as of that of a teenage girl.

Aww, three years ago I was totally crushing on Jeff.

Four years ago my formatting was all off but I was still loving the boy.

Wow, a year ago I watched Adaptation and wrote an awesome entry! (haha).






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty