Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

NYC - Trip 3

30 August 2005

I ventured to the grand city of NYC this past weekend to visit Heidi. I had gone in flushes of excitement to doubt over my choice in personal time. Although I only took a half day off at work when you're incredibly slammed you have to stop and examine your choices if you're electing to leave when perhaps you need to stay.

But, what the hell, I needed a vacation and I missed having a girlfriend!

I wasn�t expecting a repeat of my last trip to NYC (it�s a terribly long entry but I promise it gets better as it goes�). But I was hopeful to have a really good time and be a bit silly and crazy as vacations sometimes award you the freedom to do so. There were a few things I wanted to do but honestly I could have camped out at Heidi�s and just spent time with her and I would have been happy with the weekend.

I got into NYC around 7pm. I decided to go with a car service rather than the suggested bus, train and walking route that Heidi had outlined. I may be a �city girl� now but the idea of spending 1.5 hours wasting my life away on public transportation when I could take a swift 20 minute ride straight to her apartment was too much to pass up. I�m slightly sad that Heidi has taken up residence in Brooklyn. There�s something romantic and exciting about living right in the city but I understand her needs to have space and make life as affordable as possible. Her apartment is actually pretty great and she lucked out with the largest room. It used to be a dentist�s office so some of it is a little awkward (no real �doors� just open spaces to enter different spaces + no closets �yikes!). Plus, the �bedroom� (probably a storage room back from the dentist heyday) next to Heidi�s requires the person to actually walk through Heidi�s room to get to it. But, other than that it�s a pretty nice place as far as New York apartments go in size and quality.

That evening we head out to eat at this Thai restaurant. The location was filmed for the movie Garden State so it was kind of fun to be in a �famous� place. The wait was awful�we didn�t eat until close to 11pm, but the service was amazing and the food was good and cheap. After eating we walked around Brooklyn for awhile trying to find a good bar to stop at. We strolled past a few places but none had the crowd we were looking for. Eventually ended up at Barcade. It is a cute idea with a typical neighborhood bar environment, tons of beer on tap and old school arcade games filling the interior. We quietly drank our beers but I think both of us were a bit tired . So, we finished up and headed back to her place where we watched some episodes of Arrested Development. I had heard the show was good and critically favored but the commercials for it always looked so awful. I was surprised then to find it was good. Almost charming even. I didn�t realize there was an actual storyline. I thought it was just goofy skits�sort of like a SNL or variety show. Not so, not so�.

Heidi crashes but I (for once) am not all that tired. I stay up and watch Conan and feel slightly nostalgic. I used to watch him every night it seemed when I was in school. Still very silly and very funny. I was afraid I was going to wake Heidi up because I was actually laughing aloud.

The next morning we get up and head into the city. We�re hoping to catch TKTS for seats in Avenue Q. Unfortunately, they�re not selling them that day so we�re out of luck. I�m okay with checking out another play, specifically, I had heard The Producers were good. I think had I pressed or show enthusiasm Heidi would have played along but I could kind of tell she wasn�t very excited about going. Since I know she�s on a tight budget I felt kind of bad making her go see (and pay) for a play she really wasn�t interested in. I agree to go for the Wicked lottery later on. It�s a tough gamble trying to win tickets, but if we do we�ll get to see a good show, front row and for only $25!

We leave there and go for Brunch at this cool little South American influenced eatery. Apparently they offer free bloody mary�s and mimosas with their brunch special. For only $17 that�s a pretty good deal, especially in NYC. I enjoy blueberry pancakes and quite a few strawberry infused Champaign drinks before we head off to central park. Do a bit of walking and check out some other neighborhoods. Stop in at this quaint neighborhood bakery called Milk & Cookies which serves�you guessed it! I was feeling really dehydrated at this point and the sweet stuff wasn�t really high on my list of things to eat (I just wanted water!) but I of course didn�t turn down the opportunity. Cookies, milk, and lots of downed water later we head back out.

We wander through Bloomingdales to find a bathroom and end up getting our makeup done. I don�t think of Heidi wearing a lot of makeup but I know she likes quality materials and does a pretty good job of applying and recommending and so on. I wear practically no makeup (although I love lipstick) and can find me buying my stuff at the local drug store. But, getting made up is fun and I�ve only had makeup applied once before. We sit down side by side and the applications begin.

Aahhh! Since I don�t tend to wear makeup, a little goes along way in my opinion. The foundation alone the woman put on me felt like mask. She proceeded to do up my eyes like a whore. I felt so goofy by the time she was done. The foundation *was* a good match and the lipstick (of course) I liked and actually decided to buy. I could at least use the makeup for cover-ups but overall I felt WAY over made�.especially for this time of day on a Saturday. Plus, it was so warm and humid in NY that I was literally wiping my face down with tissues already when we were outside so I was scared to think what I would look like when I began to melt off everything she put on me!

At least I wasn�t alone. Heidi was way overdone herself. We both laughed and agreed we think we wore less makeup when we were on stage or performing in dance when we were younger!

From there we go to the theater where Wicked is playing to find out more about the lottery. It is 4:45 at this point and the lottery does not begin taking names until 5:30 and then names are drawn at 6pm. After walking around all day I�m feeling pretty tired and ready for an afternoon nap. We basically sit around until 6pm hoping and praying we get a ticket. There were probably a few hundred people in the lottery and only 13 names to be drawn. Chances were slim but I could still hope.

We didn�t get the tickets.

Bummed and defeated we walked back to the train and headed for Brooklyn. Back at her place we watched Sex and the City (ah, that show is too good) and lounged. After sweating all day long I showered again and got ready to go out. Heidi�s place doesn�t have AC and I don�t know how she can stand it. I mean, I was �glistening� so much I could hardly apply any makeup myself because it was just coming right off.

The night had held promise originally. We were to meet up with JB (another sorority sister who parties extremely hard) and I was excited to just get drunk and laugh with girls. But, JB called and apparently had spent $300 (what!?) the night before and was a bit hung over.

Heidi head back into the city and go to a bar she likes which is bartended by two, young, Irish men. She said they were the best looking and most friendliest bartenders, plus they played indie rock music, attracted an international clientele and was just an overall casual and fun place. I�m a little bummed my crazy night out was looking like it might just be me and Heidi. Not that there was anything wrong with that but I was in NY, I was on vacation, I wanted to go all out.

Jeff was back in Chicago with his best friend in town to visit him. I knew they would be out for all hours drinking more than one probably should, but they would be having good times, and have crazy stories to share when I got back. Where was my good, silly time?

I drink a cosmo and a beer and am feeling pleasant, but nothing special. The bartender IS cute and I admit it was fun to ask him questions or for another drink simply to hear his Irish twang. I decide this night is going nowhere and buy Heidi and I a shot of B52. A �high class� shot that requires a bit of bartending skills to properly layer and uses higher shelf alcohol. It also makes for a smooth shot with a nice orange-y aftertaste.

We take our shot and chat a bit more. I move on to my second beer. Out of nowhere our sweet, Irish bartender tells us that the boys across the bar are buying us another shot of B52. How delightful. Haha�.What the hell, we accept. We both try not to look over and stare at the guys that bought the drink and talk among ourselves until the shots are prepared. When they arrive we solute the men and down they go. Again, we try not to make any attention otherwise. Heidi claims she had a guy buy her a drink in the very same spot only a weekend or so. Must be a good spot for gaining attention we joked. But, her guy ended up being a little more than drunk, and a bit aggressive too once she started talking to the person. He actually had to be kicked out of the bar!

With our drinks finished we take a break at restroom and I tell Heidi I want to thank the guy who bought the shots before we leave. Did I mention the group was not a bad looking group of guys (haha).

We go over and I thank them for the drinks. They can tell we�re leaving but of course they �twist our arms� into staying for another drink to share with them. I lean in and engross myself with the guy who bought the drink and Heidi fills in with the other two. They are English men, with the guy I was speaking to being half English and half Columbian. Interesting mix! We chatted awhile and flirted quite a bit and it was pretty enjoyable. The conversations flowed and I bought him a drink as thanks. I skirted around the boyfriend issue (I lived with a �roommate�) and we talked some more. He�s really well traveled and works in finance. He looked older but I was surprised to learn he was only 24.

Finally it comes out that I have a boyfriend and we laugh at my little lies (ah, so THAT�s why you moved to Chicago). He is kind though and says he is happy to sit a bit and continue flirting with me if I�m okay with it. I am feeling loose lipped and confess that my relationship is on the way out so I think I�ll stay and flirt a bit too. Relatively innocent and at some point Heidi and I decide to go so we can meet up with JB. He asks for my email and I give him my card. I�m not sure if he�ll write�.living out of state and randomly meeting is enough for any guy not to �call� but the fact that I have a boyfriend and kind of lied about it at that too�why should he?

It was fun though and it was flattering to have the attention of a smart, charming and pretty good looking guy.

We left the bar and went to meet up with JB. It was really nice to see her. It was weird because I didn�t feel �drunk� per se but I was definitely talkative so I�m thinking I must have had it flowing a bit more than I thought it was. I caught up with JB and talked with her friends she was with as well. There was another girl who was also an old sorority sister. These were all younger girls (in class, but were actually older in age) and it was nice to chat with them too.

It�s kind of exhilarating to be young and have so much promise. Each girl was changing jobs or starting new ones, moving to new places or what not. It was kind of fun to hear of their fears, hopes and dreams of what was to come. Most of all it was just nice to be hanging out with GIRLS! Or possibly, just to be in the company of friends.

After that we headed back home. Spent the next day watching more Sex and the City before I left in the early afternoon to go back home. I�ll be honest, the English man kept my mind company as I drifted in and out of sleep on the plane home. It feels so good to connect with someone new and have the drive flooding through you again. I miss that.

I also found a silent sadness creeping over me when I reached home. Part of it was silly PMS-ish feelings. Knowing that I would not be greeted by my parents at the airport but instead having a long trek home on the trains through the city and back out to my apartment. I found I missed my dad really bad all of sudden.

The other was going back to Jeff. I had talked seriously with Heidi about my situation and confessed that it was only a matter of time before we broke up and that was the right decision.

It�s depressing to be in this situation where you�ve accepted things but you don�t have the courage or means to do anything with it to make it better. I have choices right now but none are great. I know what I need to do�but fear the consequences.

Same old story, huh?

Five Years Ago
So I dripped a couple tears from my exhausted little eyes, as I sat in my booth and filled up my sugars and such. Breathe. (It's important you know.) Read more.

Four Years Ago
He says he likes to dance. That should be funny to watch. Any guy who gives you that "oh yeah" nod and wink when you ask them if they like to dance should be interesting! Haha. Read more.

Three Years Ago
A couple of days ago when we were high we were having this interesting conversation and he was saying our relationship was so intimate--he felt as if he had grown up with me, and he had been to all those places I loved and hated and experienced, that he knew me so well that we could have have been life long friends, or we might as well been because he didn't think there was much about my life that he didn't know about, and he's pretty much right. Read more.

Two Years Ago
Haha, I've been so bitter, bitter and boring haven't I? That's the life of a post-college grad living at home with no responsibilities whining about nothing. Read more.

One Year Ago
There was a point in that night where I asked him if we could be "fixed." He admitted he didn't know. The night ended with a kiss out on his driveway. A kiss he asked for. A strong kiss that held so much emotion. The kind that made your mind sway because it said so many things that couldn't really be verbalized. Read more.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty