Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Unmotivated and Uninspired

02 December 2007

I am feeling unmotivated and uninspired. It's hard to do much of anything when you're bored but not motivated to do anything about it. I can't believe it's been five months since I've posted. Not that there's been a lack of things going on to write about.


  • Job promotion (new job title, increased salary with little increased responsibility--alright!)
  • Trained and ran a half-marathon in September (Okay, so 2 hours 19 minutes isn't exactly fast but I raised close to $800 for charity and it was certainly a learning experience! ...and gasp, after running 13.1 miles I think I can actually call myself a runner!)
  • My grandmother passed away on my mother's side. (Apparently October is the month to say goodbye. I've taken grievance leave every October since I took my job here in Chicago.)
  • My sister got pregnant (Her first child; due in February)
  • Finished another successful Annual Meeting with my job
  • Began seeing a chiropractor (the stories and experience provide plenty of material to comment on)
  • Went to Peru for a week (Hello Creamfields and Machu Picchu)
  • Didn't go home for Thanksgiving (The first time I didn't spend it with my parents)

Living life, going, being....it's the same theme I always worry about. Getting so caught up with doing and never taking a step back to reflect. Is it making me happy? Am I heading in the right direction? Is there anything I could be doing more, less, differently?

I don't usually give a Thanksgiving entry. The holiday has never been something I looked forward to besides a break from work. I'm such a picky eater I never fantasized about the buffet of food (although, I've always been a fan of pumpkin pie). I've also never been sentimental in a way that really gave me the maturity to take the holiday as a true moment to stop and be thankful (does anyone really?).

But, a few things recently have made me more appreciative of the things I do have.

Climbing Wayna Picchu never made me appreciate being tall so much. The hike is filled with steep, tall stairs and as someone who is young and athletic I found it very challenging. I thought how unfair it would be for a shorter person. Or for someone who didn't have leg(s) or didn't have the health to make the climb.

Having wonderful, supporting parents. Watching the dad in the Amazing Race berate his daughter and tell her she disappointed him. I mean....that would crush me. My parents would never dare say something like that. Just having parents that are still together and help me whenever they can is something to truly appreciate.

Being in a loving relationship with someone who really knows me. Someone I can be completely real with and he loves me even when my less charming side appears. I just finished reading A Thousand Splendid Suns and it broke my heart in places. I've never experienced an abusive relationship and it's hard for me to fathom being in a situation where you are so helpless, and your husband beats you...both with words and fists.







I haven't been running as much since I ran the half-marathon. It was the month of my Annual Meeting and I was working longer hours trying to get prepared before the meeting with work. After the meeting I started seeing a chiropractor almost daily which sucked out precious hours of my day commuting to and from the office. All excuses; I could have managed to fit it in but I chose sleep or relaxing over working out.

Thankfully it doesn't seem that I have gained much if any weight from not running so that is good. I'm in a strange place where I would still like to be thinner and I'm plagued with the "I feel fat" syndrome but I also feel a stronger connection to my curves and feel the sexuality of them.

But, I would still like to be smaller. I would love to be 10 pounds lighter and certainly more tighter. I'm only 26 and I'm already beginning to have days where I look in the mirror and think I look old.







Jeff and I are in a pretty good place. I feel very secure in the relationship. At the same time I'm not completely sure where the marriage issue is. There are days where I want to push it and other days where it seems so pointless. Not just the wondering and worrying but the whole idea of a wedding and a marriage.

Often the idea of a wedding sounds exhausting. Other times I get a girlish excitement about the plans. I don't think I would ever get into the details. Which sounds weird since I am a meeting planner but I just don't care about a lot of things to be invested in what they look like. If I were to have a full blown wedding I would definitely want to have a wedding planner. Hopefully someone who could get to know my style and taste and run with it. I like very simple, clean, modern design and could probably tell you what I don't like but the idea of thinking about invitation design or floral arrangements leaves me blank.

I wouldn't mind picking out that dress though.... :)

I really don't know where Jeff stands on it. I don't really get why he just doesn't propose. I think a lot of it is he doesn't want to deal with the wedding (ha, we're both so lazy!), doesn't want to spend his money on a ring when it could mean we could take another trip (I'm sort of with him on that), and perhaps he's still wonders if I'll still wake him up with a surprise that I've decided I don't love him and I'm ready to start a new life without him.

I could understand his doubts at first....really, not so much after I decided to move in with him, but even then I was willing to let him figure things out. But, I don't think he can really use that now. I mean, maybe he'll always wonder. If he truly was surprised (and I still have a hard time believing that) then it would be uncomfortable thinking....well, things seem great now --but they also seemed great then. I can't believe I hid my unhappiness so well he had no idea.

I also can't believe that I was so unhappy and that he...wasn't too.

Regardless, I'm prepared to live happily-ever-after sans a ring and marriage...at least for now. I would never want to pressure him into it and I still try to point out that I wouldn't expect anything in our relationship to change after getting married.

Getting married would offer a few really nice things. Besides thrilling our parents who have been waiting for us to formalize everything it would be nice to finally call him my husband. There is something rich and meaningful in that word that I really treasure. Being a wife is a responsibility and a commitment that 'girlfriend' never can be, the way language limits us.

I may think of him as my husband and his family as my in-laws but without making it official....he isn't and they aren't...family. And that is something I want.

I'm beginning to dread the introduction. Boyfriend sounds so immature...there are still times where it feels inappropriate to have him at functions because the label 'boyfriend' sounds so insubstantial. I feel compelled to say "but we've been dating for over seven years--" to reassure he's the "real thing" but then I feel embarrassed ---

If you've been dating for this long and aren't married it leaves a big WHY in the air. If he's the type of guy who won't commit he looks a little pathetic. If I'm the type of girl to wait around for a guy after that many years....it makes ME look pathetic. No one wins.

There's also been a few times where not being married has hurt us in other ways. When my grandmother passed away I received paid-leave time while he had to take a personal day. My health insurance is better than his plan but since he's not my legal partner he can't get on the plan.

I don't know. Sometimes I feel pressed with an urgency to get things done and to get answers and other times I don't see the point. But, I'm beginning to feel the tug when I see other couples meet and get married in time far shorter than we've been together.

We are able to comfortably joke about marriage but when I press him for answers I don't get any and I just feel bad about afterwards. It's hard...I don't want to pressure him but then I flip sides and think well, WTF is he waiting for? And if he is waiting for a certain reason....shouldn't I know?

It would be so much better if he would just say something concrete...even if he is happy being together but not married (and possibly never getting married)--just something. Not, "oh, I tried that once and you turned me down."

Which isn't fair. Ha, besides, he never actually asked me to marry me. Sure, he may have bought a ring and asked my dad for permission... but I did, la la la, attempt to break up with him before the question was ever asked. Anyway, it's been close to two years since we went through all that. AND we're living together!

Plus, with his new job I know he has a lot more money so he's in a better situation financially which I knew was something that was important to him (all that silly "I'm a man and must provide for you" stuff). Sigh, it just leaves me feeling disconnected when I think about it too much.

And if that makes me pathetic....then I guess I am.

Other than that our relationship is going pretty great :)






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty