Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Senior Bar Crawl 2003!

06 June 2003

Brr. Why am I using my space heater in June in Ohio? Uhh, shouldn't it be 80 something by now? It's strange how we have completely skipped over spring. I imagine at some point it will simply be a raging 95 degrees with 80% humidity...but in the meantime I'm actually kind of cold, with it hovering around high 50-something.

Well, it's [somewhat] official. I am done with college. I graduate next Friday, but I finished with my classes on Wednesday and my internship on Thursday, and viola--all done.

There is a tradition of a senior bar crawl at my school which occurred last night and I participated in. I wasn't sure what to expect. I had ignored them all in the past, and never even ventured out when it was going on, because all the damn seniors clog up the sidewalks and bars. But, being a senior myself, I of course had to go along with it. It's tradition.

Everyone wears a white shirt and people write all over you--which I initially thought was pretty dumb, but it ended up being okay. I was hoping to see the insides of most of my campus bars having been exclusive to one or two (the rest either being too far away or blatant hole in the walls). The night began with frustration as it felt all my friends were beginning at different times and I wasn't sure who to go with.

I wanted to be with my boyfriend, but I wasn't about to abandon my girlfriends. I figure I have the rest of my life (hopefully!) to hang out with Jeff, but for some of these girlfriends who know if I'll ever see again once I graduate. With everyone leaving at tentative times ("We're going out to dinner at 6:30 then going afterwards...."I have a meeting at 7 and whenever that ends..."I'm going to a play around 8:30 and I'll be back close to 10pm....") I felt a bit helpless; not sure who to follow.

With luck, Heidi got back at about the same time Jeff and his buddies were leaving. We were going to head to a[bar] that is considered the beginning of senior crawl and hopefully some of our other girlfriends would be heading there soon after. Well, the first bar was insanely packed, so we decided to skip it and head to the next one. I was a bit disappointed, b/c the first bar I have never been in, and I've heard it's actually nice...it's just like a 20 minute walk from our place so I never go there.

The next bar is the type of which you assume no one has ever actually been to, but you pass it all the time. The place was jam packed with a line coming out of it. Once inside, I quickly lost the boys and began de-gluing myself from sticky, sweaty bodies. It smelled like B.O. pretty bad in there. It took us about 30 minutes to get a drink (lemon drop, miller light) and by that point somehow the boys had already had their drink(s) and were leaving. (Argh.).

So Heidi and I began pouding our beers so we could follow the boys. Ahh, so we rushed through our beers and ran out into the street to the next place. I was thinking if every bar would be like that I would be puking pretty soon, because I couldn't keep drinking like that all night long. We (thankfully) see the boys walking up ahead of us on the (overflowing) sidewalk and we manage to catch up to them. When we reach the next bar we aren't sure what to do.

It kind of hits a crossroad where you can either head North and check out the bars there or you can head South to your final closing bar destination. I want to go North because I've never been to those bars before (and probably never will) but the boys seem like they want to go South. We hang outside a bar for awhile trying to figure out where everyone wants to go. (At this point we've collected a reasonably large group and everyone has their opinion pending). In the meantime some boys think it would be funny to go buy some beer from the CVS across the street (which they do).

Open container in hand, the boys are back and we enter a "club." It is connected to another "club" (they call themselves clubs, but they're actually pretty stupid bars with a tiny little dancefloor). The nerve--the bar is actually charging cover! We (too easily) go through an exit, and walk right in no question. We even pass the person who is checking IDs and collecting money and they don't say a word. I think it was because the whole place was just so insane with people you can't exactly control that.

Surprisingly, the "club" looked like it was actually fun. It took a moment to collect myself, because this is the type of place you make fun of--not actually go to and enjoy, but when it was filled with people the place didn't look too bad. Another long long wait for a drink and collecting more people in our group we head to the connected bar. There we pretty much just slug-pace our way through the crowd and finally out the exit.

From there we head to another bar which is so disgustingly full I feel like I'm molesting every person I slither by because you are pressing so close to everyone's bodies. Finally get a drink and head over to a part of the bar you can breathe in. Oh well for showering the hair was back at that point, because I was beginning to get sweaty. I am feeling mildly buzzed at this point, and we all just stand around, get scribbled on and talk to people.

From there we head to a Donatos that serves beer, but we only end up waiting in line forever to just decide we want to leave. Ditto for BW3s. But we do catch a bathroom break and the boys decide to mark up all the walls (these bars must just be completely graffiti-ed out after this night!). No drinks, it's too crowded--although, at this point, I don't really see a difference. Everyone and their mom is out in full force--who knows if these people are true seniors or not, but there sure does seem to be a lot of white shirts floating around. I guess we are the second largest university in the country, so perhaps there really are that many graduating seniors!

Our next destination is the home bar, skipping over a few I would have liked to stop in, but oh well. We are lucky and see a friend about to get into the bar so we ditch and get right in. (Every bar has a huge line outside of it). Ahhh, this bar is "home" in the sense it's where all the Greek folk hang out. It's a pretty decent bar, and it's close to Greek row, so it's mostly an issue of convenience that makes it popular.

I instantly ditch the gang and head to the upstairs bar b/c I figure it's the least crowded (correct!). I also run into a girl I had English class with Freshman year whom I absolutely adored. Too bad she didn't RUSH. We chat for awhile, and I am soon bombarded with fraternity boys and we all just hang out and talk. I do a shot with Jeff and Heidi and it puts me over. I am non-stop chat at this point. And I'm flirting with my two "crushes" in the [fraternity]house. Haha, but it's all in good fun, Jeff is right there beside me the whole time but I do get pictures with both of my "boyfriends." :)

I head downstairs and start talking to a guy I had archery class with. He asked me out on a date and had pretty much ignored me ever since I declined, but I thought this would be a good time to make up. I'm sure he is surprised to see me drunk, because I'm not that type of a girl, but I'm telling him we should do a shot together when Heidi tells me we're leaving. Oh well. I don't really want to go, because I'm having a good time, but I'm not exactly about to wander around by myself (on the otherhand, I was drunk and content enough to probably make it a good time ;)

So we leave and I guess everyone is heading to a downtown club. That's fine with me, but I'm not changing I say (white shirt scribbled and all--hmm, are tennis shoes okay?) but half way back to our place Jeff, Heidi and I decide we don't want to go and we're going to head back down to the bar. I need to first stop at home and change my "feminine article." I come inside and instantly begin searching for food, the hungry drunk that I am. Who knows how many cookies I consumed, but a few cookies and disorientated minutes searching for my spanish class boyfriend's (I call everyone boyfriend don't mind me) phone number (we were going to try to meet up during senior crawl) I leave and go to the fraternity house.

Heidi is being wooed by the jerk who "de-flowered" her and she abandons Jeff and I. I'm not sure really what we did then. I guess maybe we just sat around for awhile, or maybe we went straight to bed. Thankfully, I didn't have to get up today until noon. :)


Well, senior crawl wasn't exactly what I expected but I still had fun. I wish I could have met up with my girls at some point, but that didn't really pan out. On the otherhand I was surrounded by guy-friends and that still made it fun, because they were all being pretty entertaining and goofy. I didn't really get to experience that many new bars, but each bar was equally frustrating in its claustophobic crowded-ness and inability to staff enough bartenders to keep up with the demand.

I didn't puke, which I'm happy about, but I wasn't exactly out-of-control drunk--which isn't fun to deal with the following day, but always makes for interesting stories. Plus, I almost never go out, and when I do the night is usually pretty tame. I figured this might be a good time for me to go all out and really have a generic party experience. But I was drunk and happy...I just wish we would have stayed at the last bar longer so I could have enjoyed it. Instead I went right to bed.

It's funny, I really didn't feel like a graduating senior until last night. Now that bar crawl is over it feels a little more real to me. Graduating seems like a natural state in my life.

And the good news? I discussed the living situation with Jeff this morning and he said he would definitly follow me (or heidi)--or basically, whoever has a job first we all go. So that's good to know. But he also said that it would depend on timing on some level. Say, if I got a job tomorrow in...Arizona unless if I could financially support him for at least a month or so, he wouldn't be able to follow me right away because he doesn't have any money saved.

And I'm okay with that, because the same goes for me. I would be happy to stick around for the summer, save a little and get out of Ohio around September. January is still my deadline though. Job or no job, I'm moving--I'm not sure where yet, if needs be I'll start planning this stage in November/December, but I'm going and I'll figure it out then. That gives me six months to save.

And, I don't know how this happened. But I actually have about 800 dollars saved right now. Of course, I'll probably go through that pretty quickly because I am (potentially) going to NYC at the end of June, and "fah sho" going to drive down to FL to check out some of the city living conditions sometime in July, AND one of me and Jeff's good friends is studying abroad in London and we have also discussed visiting him.

Hey, if we can find the right flight for the right price I would love to do that. I have never been to a lot of places and I love to travel, so going to London would be a blast.

We'll see!






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty