Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

SBD cont, job duties, jeff/moving...

05 October 2003

So the South Beach Diet went relatively well. I didn't really crave bread, pasta or potatoes I just wished I could have them. The sweets though....it made me really cranky and sad that I couldn't just eat away like I used to (I eat *a lot* of sweets).

My mom figured I would lose weight just from not eating so much snacks/junk food. I was thinking maybe she would be right. After all...cookies and ice cream are staples in my normal diet. ;)

I found that when I weighed myself in the morning it did appear that I was losing weight. But if I weighed myself at night it was like I was losing nothing. So I was a bit annoyed....I mean what's the point of saying you lost five pounds if by mid-day you're back to what you are used to?

Ultimately, after two weeks of "carb detox" I was down seven pounds. Just by chance though, I happened to have been two pounds heavier than my typical weight so I figured...that was more like losing five pounds. And hey, five pounds is still great! Plus, I lost 2.5" in the narrow part of my waist, 1" off the thickest and 1" off my hips/butt. I figured even if I was losing water pounds the inches should be from fat, right?

Then phase II began...not two days into it I was back to my "normal" weight. Does that mean I can never eat carbs & sweets again? BUT...if anyone out there is considering trying the SBD diet I do really recommend it. The book is based on pretty sound research plus, my mom lost 13lbs (and it's still off). My brother also had pizza like 4 times during phase one and he still lost 9lbs.

Basically, I don't think this is meant for people who just need to lose a few pounds. Both my mother and brother are overweight and I think that's who the diet is geared towards. And that's okay, although I was hoping to get some results from the diet the most important thing is supporting my mom and hopefully improving her health.

My mom has been heavy all my life. I've never had a problem with it, but now that the weight in combination with other things is beginning to affect her health--I want to help anyway I can to make her better.

Plus, not all is bad with going on SBD...I'm still trying to change my lifestyle and I'm definitly more aware of sugar/carbohydrate intake. I pretty much "fell off the wagon" though and started eating sweets again. I am *so* much happier when I do. :) I'm still trying to be aware of what I'm eating and limiting my sweets a little. I'm eating less than what I was before, but probably more than what phase II would allow. So I am unofficially off the diet.

I'm still going to try doing the things it suggests, though. I'll let you know how it goes. If you know any great low-carb, low-sugar (low-fat a bonus!) sweets or desserts let me know! I love to cook so send the recipes/products my way!


My second week of work was amazing. I actually looked foward to going in! I was having a good time and feeling productive and important.

By week three I felt exhausted and bored. (La la la....)


I think what happened was I had a couple of working mini-projects and that really helped me feel motivated and goal orientated, which is how I work best. When those wrapped up and I was left to fill in little things here and there...I felt really bored. There was no goal-end, it was just an ongoing spread of information going in & out. I mean everything I was doing...it had to be done, so I was trying to make myself feel better knowing that I was doing something that no one else was responsible for. But it didn't really help.

Everyday I came in I thought I would be left with nothing to do before the end of the day. It's amazing how long it takes to do some things. Just with the flow of control and information, it always takes longer when you're waiting on other people to get back to you before you can go to the next step.

I'm getting to the point where there are a lot of details and if I don't keep them straight something is going to go bad. It's kind of overwhelming if I really stand back and look at what I'm in control of. The other day I was shuffling things around only to realize that I've lost the contents of one woman's file. I still haven't found it. I was able to get some of the items from saved/filed copies of things, but I'm still missing a couple of things. So basically, I'm going to have to go through everyone's file and see if/where those extra slips of paper are hiding. Argh! That's 120 files with lots of loose files.

It's either that or contact the person again and ask them to send it. That's getting really unprofessional. Plus, I have to write EVERYTHING down because I'm working with 120 speakers, then all their committees who suggested them and are working on different tracks and they're all calling me or I'm calling them, and a little comment that makes sense at the time just flys away into my mind and never makes it out.

Does this make sense? I mean part of it is fun but sometimes it worries me that I'm control of all of this and I don't want to mess things up! Haha, but overall I feel very useful and hardworking and am enjoying my work.

The intern really makes work enjoyable and I am really happy she is there. We will probably start interviewing for the receptionist/executive assistant position in the next couple of weeks--I hope it's someone young and compatible with me. That makes work so much better. In the meantime, I've been taking over the old receptionist's job which includes answering the telephone.

Haha, I swear I can't answer one question that comes into the office. It's all related to veterinary type things. I'm sure i'll begin to pick up on things.


I'm beginning to wonder if Jeff is starting to resent me. The same way I didn't want to put my job search on delay back when I thought I couldn't look for a job anywhere I wanted because I was worried jeff wouldn't follow....now I've trapped Jeff here in Ohio and he really can't do a job search because he needs to show employers his portfolio...it's just not effective for him to send a resume.

Although, I don't think that's completely true. I'd like to know how many resumes/calls he's actually made. I wouldn't be surprised if he hasn't contacted one person, but what do I know. I understand he wants his portfolio to be beautiful and perfect before he shows it to anyone, but at the same time if he's going to complain that he wants a design job I think he needs to start applying for open positions.

And I know how hard it is to job search out-of-state...most people won't even bother with you. But design is completely different. I mean, I know any employer would rather you just live in the city already, but with design that's a pretty great skill/talent. Sure everyone will need a little training/time to understand the company and its goals and the business. But if you're looking for a person who be providing a creative service...that's something you're willing to look all over for.

Anyway, the other day Jeff was saying he is saving up and "February 1st I'm out of here!" And I was like...well, I did say February we could leave, but my conference for my job isn't until the end of February. I think that just crushed Jeff's heart. I know he wants to get out of here. And yes, I do too. But even if I didn't have a job I couldn't just leave tomorrow. I don't have that much saved, and I guess Jeff is pretty close.

I'm not sure what to tell him. I suppose I could just quit and go, but that seems pretty reckless. I want to stay at my job through the conference at least, really get a lot out of the experience and hopefully leave on good terms so I'll have a source for recommendations. I do get really excited when I think about just dropping everything and moving out to Cali with little more than money and a loose plan. I think our deadline should be March 1st. At least, that is the earliest I think I should go.

I actually think April 1st would be even a better deadline but I don't think Jeff can hold out like that. I would be okay with Jeff leaving on Feb. 1st. He could scope out the area, begin his job search, and who knows--maybe even be employed and find an apartment for us by the time I get out there in March. It would be convenient for me. :) Haha, I mean I would love to go apartment hunting and all that with him, but I trust his judgment.

To be honest, my biggest concern is where we are going to stay while we are job searching. He has a few different friends that live in the area that he claims we could stay with but i'm still a little hesitant. It's one thing to have a buddy crash at your place for awhile. It's completely another to have a buddy...and his girlfriend tag a long. Ok, so I know a few of the people that are potential housemates so it wouldn't be completely awkward, but I'm still more on acquaintance (sp?) level rather than friends. Also, I mean I can't believe any of these people are just rolling in the money already. I can't imagine squeezing two more people into a small cramped apartment or something.

I don't know. I mean, I know we'll all figure it out when it comes I'm just used to have a really thought out plan before I make a move and Jeff is more like--fill your car with as much as you can and what we leave behind we'll just get "sometime." I'm thinking....let's rent a truck, rent some storage area and start budgeting that into our travel fund right now. I don't think that will happen, though.

I still would like to have the marriage talk with him. You would think this wouldn't scare me as much as it does. I'm still waiting for that magical "right" time, but how do you do that? How should I even begin? Do I wait until we're all cozy and having a romantic night? Do I just say "hey let's talk" on a random Tuesday night? I'd love if he'd just bring it up--that's the guy's job right? ;)

Ahh, oh well.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty