Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

2010 Book Review

01 January 2011

I love to read but I tend to go in cycles where I'm reading a lot and then it's just a trickle. But at any given time I'm reading 2-3 books. It just varies on how much dedicated time that I give it.

I always have an audio book in the car. My commute is long and traffic is bad. I couldn't work where I do without having something to listen to. Otherwise, the drive would be unbearable.

I usually have a physical book going that I read during my cool down at the gym. I also like to have a non-fiction book that I'm reading at home. If needed, I also keep an audio book for my ipod if I find I'm getting really bored or unmotivated at the gym.

I get all my books almost exclusively from the library. I would love to buy but I don't really have a place to keep the books, plus it would become a very expensive hobby. Most of my audiobooks are randomly picked from the shelf. This means I listen to a lot of different books which is good...but also means I listen to a lot of really bad books.

Here is my round-up from 2010. Keep in mind, these are books I read in 2010, not necessarily when they were published/released.

A few of the winners:


  • The Passage by Justin Cronin
  • Interred with Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrell
  • Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr.
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  • Born to Run by Christopher McDougall


The best...I thought The Passage was one of the best books I've (listened) to in a long time. Every so often a book comes along that excites you and makes you want to reach out to find others to discuss it with. That's how I felt about this book. It's completely indescribable because it's about so many different things and the story follows many different characters over a wide space of time. The reader for this book was awesome and is one of my favorites and sometimes good readers make all the difference. BUT, I think I would love this book regardless if I had actually read it (vs. audiobook).

Interred with Their Bones was also an audio and it was a fun adventure story. I learned a little Shakespearian history while enjoying a treasure hunt-like story. I always like books that have a little bit of historical truth to them even if the story is purely fiction.

Everything Matters! was another book that spanned a large period of time. Very original idea and left me very curious to see what would happen next.





The Honorable Mentions:

  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
  • The Beach by Alex Garland
  • Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris (Probably read last 5 in series in 2010)
  • King Dork by Frank Portman

Oliver Twist....ah, the classics. I hadn't read this one before (ahem, listened) and this ended up being a book I ran to while training for the marathon. Because of that it will probably always resonate with running memories. Poor Oliver...he really did have a rough life.

The Beach was something I had wanted to read ever since seeing the movie. I thought the story idea was very intriguing and even though the movie wasn't really good I liked what it could have been. I felt the same way after I read the book. Intrigued but....it didn't go far enough.

The Sookie Stackhouse books came recommended to me by a co-worker. They're fun, easy, reads. I've done both audio and actual books for these and always get through them quickly.

King Dork could easily be in the "worst books read" category. This is not a good book. Yet, there is a scene very late in the book which is so ridiculously funny it made me laugh until I cried. I sometimes randomly think of it and have to stifle a giggle. Really funny. Which [almost] makes it worth reading (or listening, as I did).






Worst Books Read in 2010


  • The Moses Expedition by Juan Gomez-Jurado
  • The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall

The Moses book was so bad I felt embarrassed for the author. It almost seemed like he was writing it as an outline for a movie. Which is good in a way --very easy to see the scene and landscape of the story. But, the overall writing was horrible. Very flat characters and improbable situations. I wanted this to be another adventure/discovery story with all the mystery and danger it promised but instead I was very disappointed. I traveled with this book and if I hadn't been trapped in a plane or in a car with nothing else to do I definitely would have returned this to the library unfinished.

As for the Polygamist you may have seen this show up on a bunch of "Best of" lists. I apparently am missing the genius of this story. I was so bored through the entire thing. The guy was such a loser and everyone around him was dragged into a poor me situation. And you did feel sorry for everyone. But, I felt more sorry for myself having dragged myself through it as well. If it hadn't been so highly recommended I too would have cut this one short. But, I stuck it out hoping I would experience an epiphany. [Nope.]





Have you read any good books this year? Let me know in the guestbook!






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty