Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

don juan, greek system, jeff+chris & jealousy

26 April 2000, Wendesday

Sometimes I wonder if it would be fun (and feasible) to be a "Don Juanita"

Yeah, probably not. But I do wonder.... hehe, like what if you really were this incredible lover, sleeping with thousands of people. Think what a fabulous diary that would be. A diary filled with all of your encounters, detailing everything about it, from the initial impression of the person, the background, the history, and up to the final act itself...technique, positions, feelings, words. That'd be pretty cool. Yeah, I could be a campus Don Juanita.

I ran into Dan at the the cafe today while with one of my "sisters" of alpha Xi. I didn't introduce them, because it was a brief chat and all, and we were leaving, but I almost wanted to sum who it was to her by saying, "aww, he was my first 69." I didn't say anything though. But then I was thinking, how it would be funny, if everyone you met, you kind of had that thought run through your head. Now, I don't think I'll remember Dan for that act specifically, our friendship goes way back, but I still thought it was curious, that that was the first description of him that came to mind.

He's such a sweety, once back in my dorm, 10 minutes later I get this IM "You're one sexy lady! I just wanted to tell you that!" and then he signed off. Hehe, but we always flirt like that, but I'm flattered anyway....I had just finished with dance and I was dressed in ghetto warm up clothes. But anyway.


I have a rant about the Greek System. Actually, I have a gripe about all the negativity towards those in the greek system. It's a bunch of B.S. the crap we have to take. The people who complain about the greeks, don't know what the hell they're talking about. You can't knock something until you've been a part of it and understand all the sides of it.

Sure, the world often only gets to see the dirty side of greek life--but it's news, I'M SORRY! It's too bad they don't report the philanthropies we do. The fact that our organizations raise the most money for charities. That we have events every other week, making crafts for children.....or doing things with kids. (Well at least us personally--our philanthropy is "kids first") But everywhere you go, it's part of it. It was truthfully the original focus of the greeks.

A group of dedicated, involved individuals, coming together to better the college community. Somewhere along there the vision got distorted and it turned into a cliquish group of rich snobs who party everynight and do poorly at school.

Sure. I'm sure there are people who fit the description above. But really, you're gonna find that everywhere--aren't you!? And it doesn't matter who you are, or what you were in HS, you can still go greek. And I recommend it. It's not buying your friends, I used to say that too. Infact, everyone I meet from HS is like "oh my gosh, you joined a sorority, I would have never though it!" It's not about being cool, or having a "clique"--really.

It's like when you join a sports team, or a club and you end up getting close to the people you see everyday and they become your friends. A sorority/fraternity is just like that. You have to pay for sports equipment/clothes and it's the same here. Except it's more expensive because it includes support for the house and for all the activities we do. Sure it's social, but everything is a choice.

There are girls in the house who go out everynight. I don't. There are girls in the house who have bad grades. Some have 3.5+. It's about what you want. And the choice to do any of the things we do is always there--and it's not just a choice you have to make in the greek system, it's the choice you have to make everyday if you're a college student on campus. It's not about being Greek.


Sports and clubs may offer great things, but the connection of a sorority is a step deeper. They don't call it sisters and brothers for nothing. You create an incredible bond with these people. I doubt I would have met anyone in my house if I hadn't joined this sorority. All of a sudden I just gave myself a potential, a new outlet to meet *a lot* of people. And in a huge campus like mine, it's a great opportunity.

So all of you, who bash the Greek system? Don't. You have no right to criticize anything you don't truly understand and are a part of. You don't see the rituals, you don't see the bonds. So....Go Greek!


Chris is coming home this weekend, but we're both kind of busy. He doesn't come home the following weekend though, and so I definitly want to see him. I have a TG on Friday though, and since I missed the last one, I think I should go to this one. Need to hang with my sistas, ya know? :) But I'm just so jam packed. I'm sort of stressing over this dance routine...I'm supposed to have memorized and perfected a monologue for acting...as well as pick out and look over a final scene with a new partner for a read through in class....not to mention my mid-term in that class on Monday...and my History midterm....

Sigh. And the fact it's 11:00 and I'm tired and I haven't done my homework tomorrow for Econ and Math...and I have a math quiz which I actually need to *study* for. AND I have to turn in my football ticket money and application tomorrow...but I haven't even picked up the form, and I have to basically walk across the country to go retrieve it...so like, I need to do that, but I don't know when or how.

Tired. :) But I'm still in a good mood. I guess my guitar boy, Jeffrey has a crush on me. I told Chris I was talking to him over AIM, and he was all like "oh no, don't fall in love!" but I didn't really think he was bothered by it. But I guess he's been thinking about it, cuz he all wrote me today, like "please tell me you don't have any feelings for him, yadda yadda." Please, jealous much? I mean we were trading MP3s we weren't even talking really.

I admit, he has this amazing voice, and he's very talented, and I'm incredibly attracted to the music and his guitar playing (it's such a turn on ;) BUT I'm not physically attracted to him at all.

Then again, being the lustly don juanita that I am, I can take on anyone.

Haha, okay, I'm so easy, but seriously, I really like Chris, so it's not an issue. And with Chris...he's good. He's totally a comfort, I really trust him, and although Jeffrey lives in this state, he still lives in another city, which might as well be another state, as far as I'm considered. Chris, I know will be dedicated to coming out and seeing me. (well, as long as he's still doing business here and seeing his daughter and what not.) I would never expect, or really want, him to come all the way out here [just] for me. It just wouldn't seem fair to me, and I'd probably feel too guilty or like a burden to want to see him.

God knows my ol' station wagon at home just wouldn't make it to Indiana. ;)






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty