Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

New job, new diet...new me?

20 September 2003

So I started my new job on Monday. The first day I really didn't do much, mostly people just talked to me and explained things. That was fine with me, I wasn't quite ready to be handed an assignment and start running with it.

My supervisor went in detail over the conference in February and I'm glad she did. It gave me a really good idea of what the conference was about, how it was set up, and the major responsibilities that would fall on both of us when it began. From Thursday-Sunday that week in February I will pretty much be exhausted. I will be working from 6AM-9:30pm "officially" and I'm sure we'll be doing things later as well. Luckily, I get paid overtime. :) HAha, plus, the weekend is so taxing we get the following Monday off so that'll be good.

I have been assigned the responsibility of speakers for the conference so pretty much all week I called, faxed and emailed speakers to turn in materials that were due at the beginning of the month in August. There are quite a few speakers with nothing in which is surprising because part of their payment is considered on if they made deadlines or not. I imagine we will have some issues later with people who claim they "didn't know" or what not.

The work isn't that exciting and I actually still feel like an intern. I almost feel offended that I wasn't getting paid at my other intern positions because my work is similar. Haha, yeah, it feels weird to know I'm getting paid for the work that I'm doing. Not that it isn't important, I do feel what I'm doing has to be done.

We have an intern from Germany. She's older, as she was already a working professional in Germany doing PR and event planning, but because of the language barrier she can't be handed the same amount of responsibility. So she says, but I think she has a great grasp on the language, I'm really impressed. It's fun to have her there. She doesn't seem old at all and I feel almost as if she were my age. Since we're both new I kind of consider her my buddy.

I like everyone in the office so far. There are 7 people that work there including me and the intern so it's pretty tiny. The only person I don't really care for is our receptionist. She's way into grandma land and she talks down to me as if I were a child.


So do I like it? Hrmm, I guess. I can't say that I hate it or even dislike it but I'm not overjoyous about it. But, I suppose I'm not doing anything that I didn't expect. I would have to say in general: I don't like working. :) I still feel like a student too. This just feels like an internship and any day now I'll be starting school back up. I feel the same way about actually going. As in, it wouldn't be too bad if I had to go in there a few times a week....except, this is my life, I will now go in there five times a week.

And I didn't realize how working really just sucks the life out of your day. And because you have to get up so early....you have to go to bed early (wow, huh ;). I know that logic sounds really obvious but somehow....I don't think I ever really realized what that means my day will look like. And my father goes to bed everynight at 10pm and that used to disgust me because it was so early.

Now I start getting tired around 9:30--I'm an old woman. ;) Haha, I've been really good about going to bed early though. I am at least in bed by 11pm...although that doesn't mean I'll fall asleep anytime soon after that. Plus, i've been fighting a cold so my sleep hasn't been that great. But one night I really did go to bed at 9:30 and I couldn't believe it.

Jeff wasn't even home from work (at the restaurant) and here I was exhausted.

And with a bedtime so early your day is really short. After work I go tan (I know, I know, but I'm wearing a black strapless for my sister's wedding so I want to look good ;), then I go home, change and go to the gym. I come home, shower, and start preparing dinner around 7:45-8pm (I'm all domesticated like that). Dinner prepared and ate and all of a sudden it's 9pm, you've got a brief hour to yourself (kinda) that somehow gets warped between cleaning up things, talking to someone and checking your email. Oops, where did the time go, now it's bedtime.

I'm thinking, wow, life sucks! (Moms&Dads of the world, you are amazing...I can't imagine slipping kids into the mix of it).


I think I'm beginning to accept the fact that I have no life during the week. Although I'm not too happy about it. Of course, if you cut out the tanning, gym and dinner making I have a bit more time, but still it's not great.

My family started the South Beach Diet. I admit, I started working out regularly two months ago--you would think that I would have lost weight or look more defined or something. Well, I think I've gotten bigger. I don't know how that happened, but my only explanation is that perhaps I was eating more because I would be so hungry after working out really hard.

So great.

I've never been on a diet before, and when I tell people I started one they give me a dirty look (okay, so i'm not a big girl by any means, and I know I have a pretty good body/size, BUT--). I was still about 15 pounds lighter in highschool. And while my arms might have been a little too skinny then, I think I was happier at that size. All I know is that when I look in the mirror I'm just not satisfied with what I see. I would love to drop a few sizes. And until I'm a size 0,2 or whatever I don't want people to say "oh, you don't need to lose any weight!"

I'm a size 8-9. It's not big. In fact my tummy is flat, I'm not complaining. But I've got a booty, and while my stomach is flat I feel as if I'm growing in width. Does that make sense? I have trouble finding pants that fit my hips and my waist. It's frustrating.

And while I'm not overweight or anything like that, I'm not toned the way I'd like to be, and I'd be a whole lot happier with the way clothes fit on me as a size 6-7. So....

The diet has three phases and from what I gained from reading the book it actually sounds like a pretty healthy book. It was designed to help people who were at risk for heart problems, and since my mom has some weight/health issues it actually calls to her more than it does to someone who just wants to lose a few pounds.

The first phase is a two week "detox." The book doesn't use that term but that's kind of how I consider it. It is supposed to be low-fat and low-carb. No sugars, starch, or carbs (except from veggies) are allowed. Well, with that one statment my whole eating routine was pretty much wiped out. I love pasta! I eat bread and potatoes like its my job, and I enjoy rice too. I wasn't sure how I was going to survive on such a diet....I'm not a big veggie fan and I'm picky to a point of annoying when it comes to how/when I can eat meat.

So basically for the first two weeks you eat lean meats, lots of vegetables and low-fat cheese. Once the two weeks are over phase II begins and you start reintroducing some things back into your diet. Supposedly you will lose 8-13 pounds in the first phase, and then you stay in phase 2 until you reach your ideal weight. I think phase 2 will be tricky b/c you'll really be learning about your body and how it reacts to food.

I'll have to learn what food items I can eat occasionally and still be okay and what items I might have to eventually phase out completely from my life. In phase three you should be in a new state of mind about food and you should have developed better eating habits and what not.

Whenever you slip up (holidays for example) and gain weight back, you start over in phase 1.


Well, week one really wasn't that bad. I'm surprised, because I thought I would miss the bread/pasta the most, but really what I'm craving are sweets. Unfortunately I am PMSing (although lightly) and the whole (I NEED chocolate...followed by...I NEED salty popcorn!) thing will be hitting me pretty hard.

I tried making one of the "desserts" out of the book but it was pretty awful. Thankfully we can eat sugarfree popsicles and sugarfree jello and those are both okay, but they're really not doing it for me. Also, while dinner has been fine (chicken & vegetable) lunch is a little more awkward. I have been packing my lunch...which ends up being a salad (with leftover chicken), string cheese and a jello. While I think a salad tastes good here and there, I'm not really into eating one everyday.

Plus, to me, lunch means sandwich! (with fries if possible, ;) I actually went to Arby's one day, and got a roast beef sandwich...I was so proud (and sad..) as I threw away the buns and ate the meat fork&knife style. It's just not as satisfying you know? Also, it wasn't *that* bad for one week but I think I'm going to get bored by it by next week.

AND, of course my office just happens to be jelly bean junkies so this huge bag of sweets is just sitting in our hallway screaming Eat ME!. haha, but I resisted. And then I went to a computer training course and our instructor brought us donuts (eat me too!). I've been good so far.

The only thing that I've done that's "wrong" is eat bacon (it's supposed to be Canadian bacon only, because it's less fatty), and I ate a popsicle and a jello in one day (it's supposed to be one "sweet" a day). Oh yeah, and I had a piece of gum (and I don't think it was sugar free). Haha, but no carbs..yet. I can do one more week.

And the good thing is I'm beginning to really like veggies...it's kind of creepy.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty