Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

done with finals

8 June 2000

June 8th, 2000. Has a nice ring to it, doesn't it? I left my econ midterm....singing. I felt like breaking out into song and dance a.k.a the "crazy" guy from Cupid. (Did anyone else watch that show when it was on?) Anyway, I withheld my natural feelings so I could look normal but I couldn't help but hum and softly sing to myself in the most cheesiest voice I could manage, "I'm so happppyy."

I'm, like, yeah...a sophomore you guys. ;)


Last couple of days I've been really hyper at night. I think part of it is the PMS, part of it is the excitement of moving out, and part because I've been left alone in my little cubicle of a house (dorm room), with no roommate or friend.

Being alone like that for too long starts to get to you ;) Anyway, so last night, as I was trying to study for history I would read my essay questions over and over...but in voices. You've got scottish, irish, english, valley girl, surfer dude, regular aglaia voice, and basically anything else. And each time I would just stop and giggle to myself.

I'm definitly weird. ;) But I really studied hard for my History, feel really confident I have an "A" in that class. Um, Econ? I really....didn't study for that. I didn't study for a final. But I gave it all up to God beforhand, and I walked in feeling really good. Even walking out, no fear, no nothing. Whatever I get, I mean, long term, grades don't matter. Okay, I admit if I get anything lower that a B- I'll be surprised (even though I probably *deserve* lower than that, haha) I don't know. God's grace? Yeah...I'm hoping.


I feel very optimistic and....excited. I don't know what for. I just feel energy running through me. These last couple days....all of a sudden I *am* looking forward to summer. I don't know what it will bring. At first I thought it was going to be this terrible summer. Best friend is in FL the whole summmer, I'll be working full time, won't want to hang out with pre-college "friends". But I think....it's all changing. I don't know really what has changed....other than my mind. Attitude, I just feel really good. I'm feeling super positive about Jeff too.

I mean who knows, maybe we won't hang out at all, or maybe we'll hang out a lot, whatever the case, it'll be fine.


I look around my dorm room and think of all the history that has gone down here. Not necessarily with me and my roommate, just every person who has ever lived in this room, slept on those beds. Haha, I left my mark...69 on the floor...as well as a couple places of...too much to drink rum 151 days.

AHhh, I wish I hadn't taken my cds home. I think I would bust out the 80s Madonna and just sing and dance, all over my room. It's still a mess, I need to clean up before my dad comes and gets me. My last d-land entry in the dorm! I feel like I've been on vacation, my summer camp is ending, now I've got to say goodbye to all my cabin buddies, take one last look at an emptied out room. It's all so strange feeling.


Ladiebug is most definitly my fave d-lander of the moment. I don't know why, she's just cool. :) For some reason I always think she's younger though, I don't know why. Like I know she's....older than me, so I don't know why I always think it. Not that it matters.

My advice to future dormers? Talk to the people on your hallway. I blame the all girls situation, but let's be real: if I wanted to meet people here, I could have made the better attempts. I still think we've got a bunch of anti-socials, but I guess they could say the same for me. I seriously couldn't tell you...well maybe half the names of the girls on my floor. Maybe not even half, it's pretty sad. The girls who live directly beside me? I think the only thing we said to each other was "thanks"--say if one or the other had held the door for each other coming in.

I still say it's the dorm, I go into other dorms and it's a lot more friendlier. But anyway...you could say, thanks to the pathetic "friendship" factor of my floor, it's what made me join a sorority, and I'm super grateful for that.

Other advice? Think of a code with your roomie if you're going to have a guy over. I wish we would have. I mean we had a rule of "no sex in the room" but....it would have been nice at other times to have some sign to put outside, just to warn each other. Not that we ever walked on each other doing something. But, always a good idea. A friend told me she wrote "going to hawaii" everytime she had a guy over. I think that's funny.

Actually, I don't have much advice, because we didn't really have problems. She also wasn't here all that much. Yeah, that's my advice....find your roommate a boyfriend who has an apartment on campus. That way: it's like having a room to yourself. :)


I don't really think I've had one day that would be my fave or the best of my first college year. I've had ongoing experiences, friendships that have been or were important, but I can't fit it into a neat little box, of one day. For Heidi it was that night we stayed at Sigma Chi into the early morning for Derby Days. That's fun when you can say you've had the best day of your life. I mean, surely you'll have more, but that has to be one damn good day! I think for me, Spring Break was the best week....even though that really wasn't at school.


My experience has been, that you can attend all of your classes, you can study (sort of :), you can stay up late, you've just got to pace yourself. I've had a blast so far, I've taken a full load (although I didn't work--go student loans...ahhh.) and still gotten good grades. I hope next year I can still have the luxury of really having a good time, and enjoying my college years. I seem to be the first college bound kid (of my family) to enjoy college so far and still do okay. I don't know what I'm doing that they weren't (maybe it's that "undecided" major--or maybe it's OSU--I don't think it's *that* easy, but i guess it is a public U).

So life is grand, I've been blessed (or let's just wait for those grades to come out ;) and yadda yadda, it's been fun.

Thanks.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty