Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

-

13 February 2011

I went out tonight with a group of girls who are all the wives/girlfriends of the guys my husband hangs out with. This was the first time I was with the girls without the boys.

I was bored out of my mind.

I'm sure they felt the same way. They're all nice girls; all pretty, successful, and I'm sure wonderful friends (to someone) just....I'm not interested. I don't really have anything in common with them and none of them have that special sparkle that makes me want to get to know them better.

I don't think I'm someone special either...I think it's okay we all happen to run in a circle of people and can all pleasantly get along well enough. Just....don't see myself doing this again anytime soon.

I like the boys. Would much rather sign up to hangout with the guys than to just make it a girls night again.

People frequently say I'm quiet which I hate because most people equate quiet with shy which I'm not at all. I just don't like filling space with meaningless conversation. It's not that the art of small talk is lost on me. I'm perfectly capable of charming a group if it's a business situation but in general, if I don't have to, I'll choose not to. Which means I sit there. Quiet.

If the topic could/would turn to something I'm interested in I'll probably turn quite animated but in most circumstances the conversation is so pedestrian that I just don't see the point of contributing. It's like being in a classroom that requires group participation. I hate raising my hand to say something, simply to say something so I can get my credit.

If I have something of value to say, I'll say it. Otherwise what's the point? Shouldn't that be enough?

My face hurts from smiling. That's as far as I was willing to go. I will smile and encourage you to keep talking. I will nod my head. Furrow my forehead where appropriate and laugh as the situation calls for.

But why all the pretend?

I know it's good to go out and be social but tonight just felt like a waste of time. I suppose now I know that these probably aren't girls I'd want to make a good friend out of.

It's weird. The science of relationships; what makes something work or not. More common interests with each other would certainly help but there just seemed to be something missing that didn't allow me to click with any of these girls. Why it is that some people you're just attracted to and want to get to know better?






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty