Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

finding my diary

28 October 2001

Well, I've had two interesting emails concerning my diary in my mailbox recently. One was praising my honesty, and the other was shocked. The latter, although was more concerned with the fact if I *knew* my diary was online (he found it through the infamous google search) and was just letting me know that...uhh, maybe I shouldn't be quite so honest. ;)

And, actually it kind of scared me. I mean, I know how many random searches have linked back to this sight and with a title of both aglaia/greek/sorority it happens to catch a lot of people's eyes. (You'd be amazed how many people search for the word "aglaia").

When I started this, I liked the online part of it, because I like having the readers. But I've never purposely put my diary address out there into search engines or anything like that. I do leave it if I sign a (diary) guestbook, but other than that, I don't give it out to people. I don't even keep this place on a favorites button, because while I'd love to spread the news of how cool diaryland is....I don't want anyone to stumble apon my diary.

And maybe it's been dumb to not abbreviate or change names, but I didn't want to confuse myself. I also felt that the things I talk about are so direct and to the point...even if names were changed you could still figure out who and what I was talking about. And if I'm going to bother with changing names, I'd probably have to take the extra step of censoring greek events and other campus related things.

Well, there goes my life and....

Why am I writing an online journal?


And I keep reminding myself that this is real life and if someone I know would find this and be offended, it would be terrible, and I'd probably freak out about it (la la la..) but, eventually they (and I) would get over it. I couldn't promise I'd continue to write--I'd probably take up another diary and be more careful--but, I don't want to have to worry about what other people say and do and think, because that shouldn't effect how I write.

Or what I write.


Really, the fact that someone I know *hasn't* found this place is almost weird, because of google. And yes, I wish google didn't steal every word I have and link it, but I can't help it. And I'm going to continue to write.

And if you do know me, and you are reading this, I'd like you to stop. Or I'd like you tell me. Because this isn't for my friends or for my family. This is for an anon. audience and for my personal mind and being.

As for my audience, if I would decide to leave, I would tell you. So if I stop writing for a week or so, don't worry, I'm coming back. Ha.


Now, for more fun things. Does anyone else watch the show "Iron Chef"? This show is so great. It's the best, because while it's iteresting to watch (yes, even I don't understand how watching foreign chefs cook for an hour is fascinating) it's also really over-dramatic, which definitly adds a comedic edge. It's all dubbed over and I'm usually laughing the whole way through. It's amazing how tense I am during the last five minutes or so (it's a cooking competition between a "challenger" and one of the "iron chefs" to make new and delicious dishes out of a theme ingredient, all in one hour.)

So yeah, a good time. (Okay, I'm a dork, but in the early morning on a saturday, it's not too bad ;)


I'm at home, it's my brother's birthday...I'm off to eat. Bye.

ag






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty