Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Off the Pill, Starting up Marathon Training

12 August 2013

I went off the pill in December. It's frightening the first time you have sex completely exposed. After years and years of trying to prevent something...all of a sudden you're supposed to welcome it.

I occasionally start in a panic, even now, -- I didn't take my pill! only to have my memory catch up to me and I remember I'm not on it.


I had heard that it may "take awhile" for your cycle to normalize after you go off the pill. I thought that meant that your cycle may go short or long, or perhaps skip, or spot, or something. I didn't realize it could also mean you just simply wouldn't have a period at all.

How terribly naive I was the first time I had sex in what I thought would have been my moment of ovulation. When I didn't get a period I actually thought I might have gotten pregnant on first try. Nope. Test came back negative but I had no period.

Then another month passed and another failed test. So it's now been 8 failed tests later and still no period. My doc put me on a hormone pill to jump drive my system but I still didn't get a period. No withdraw blood even. My blood work came back fine. Estrogen was on the "low side" of normal but nothing that would raise any flags. I am apparently supposed to just wait this out(?)

I have found many online forums filled with ladies who apparently aren't having their periods either. For some it took a few months, others many months, and some years. It's all pretty freaky.

After a couple of months of (mild) disappointment --I am in no rush--I was secretly thinking "this is great!" Ha. I know it's terrible, and I do want to have a family, but honestly, not having a period AND not being on hormones is kind of wonderful. Having said that, J and I have been putting our life on hold since we thought a baby would be coming. I almost didn't take a new job opportunity because of it! We did not plan a trip because (1) we wanted to save time off for maternity leave and (2) put savings away for baby fund. I also did not sign up for a marathon.

But, as time passed I think we're both sort of f-it, let's do something. So now we're planning an international trip...somewhere...and I signed up for a fall marathon. I'm a bit behind in training but I think I can catch up. I had been regularly committing to a long run of 10-13 miles over the weekend anyway so I figured I was probably conditioned enough.


Then again, I attempted a 16 miler on Saturday and I pretty much tanked on my last three miles. That's OK. Psychologically it's important to hit a 16 miler. For me personally it's always a difficult number. Long enough to feel long but still so, so, far from finishing. Geographically it's important to because it marks a place in my training path where I have to cross a river. I hate crossing this river. It's a point of major congestion in downtown where I'm battling bikes, tourists, and cars. Crossing the river officially makes me feel far away from home. The anxiety increases at the crossing because I realize how far away I am and it really commits you to the run.

At that point, you can turn around and head home but you still have a long way to go to be back in the safety of your neighborhood and home.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty