Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

lots of quotes and my commentary. Reminds me of Asimov...

30 March 2000

Today is Quotable Quote Day

"True, I talk of dreams, Which are the children of an idle brain, Begot of nothing but vain fantasy, Which is as thin of substance as the air, And more inconstant than the wind, who woos."--Shakespeare (I love this quote. Actually I could just read Romeo & Juliet aloud all day long. His writing is pure poetry. I'm really turned on and tuned into words and their sounds and what not, so i'm super big into stuff like this. But even beyond any Shakespeare this is a fun quote in itself. Because I *do* talk of dreams, and I suppose it's not a bad guess that they form from an idle brain. For my brain, it likes to idle. Actually...it likes to wander too....)

"Love has taught us that love does not consist in gazing out at each other, but in looking outward together in the same direction."--Antoine de Saint-Exupery (Ahh, well it sounds nice doesn't it? I've never been in love myself, at least not in any romantic sense. I can romanticize it, but I really don't have a clue. But I agree with the statement. Love isn't about the attraction of each other, it's being able to find the same attraction for life together.)

"Stars are lovers' hands so tightly held that they burst into those bright beings we gaze at in the sky. Together the stars make constellations--the storybook of life."--unknown (I'm thinking I got this from a movie--Dances w/ Wolves maybe:That's your assignment, go look it up for me ;). I love the stars, definitly. It's the first thing I do when I walk outside--look up.)

"Sometimes it seems like we're all living in some sort of prison, and the crime is how much we all hate ourselves. And it's good to get really dressed up once in a while and admit the truth--that when you really look closely, people are so strange and complicated, that they're actually beautiful. Possibly even me."--Unknown (I don't even remember adding this quote--i just have too many. But reading again it still affects me. I think everyone really is beautiful. I'm a people watcher, I could just sit and stare at someone for the longest time, just studying the curves of the face, the expressions someone makes. Each person has such a unique viewpoint of the world, even if it seems similar to someone else, we each have our own tug, our own twist to it all. Diversity is wonderful.)

"I wonder where your tongue has been before you tasted mine."--Unknown (This always has that creepy, hmmm, feel to it, everytime I read it. It is sort of interesting to think about all the people he's kissed, and the people they kissed. Or [HA] maybe not even just kissing. So this guy I'm with is telling me how he gave this other girl oral sex, and it didn't really bother me he was telling me this, but now thinking of that quote, it does have me wondering...;)

"The whole world depends on the holiness of the union between man and woman, for the world was created for the sake of God's glory and the essential revelation of His glory through the increase of mankind."--Rabbi Nahman of Bratslav (Well, I don't know about all that, but I do see the beauty of love, and the relationships between man/woman, I see it as God in action. God is love, so what not a better to experience Him but through a loving relationship, creating and experiencing the All?)

"Don't knock the weather, nine-tenths of the people couldn't start a conversation if it didn't change once in a while."--Kin Hubbard (Just a funny one. I'm a victim as well, i love talking about the weather. But just about everything fascinates me in life, so i talk about a lot of really random things. I try to make an active participation in the thoughts of things we take for granted.)

"People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just beacuse they're not on your road doesn't mean they've gotten lost." --H. Jackson Browne (It's so easy to think people are going the wrong we, because they aren't taking the direction you think is "right" for them. Right and wrong are relative terms, and no one can put definitions on them. And most definitly in the way we lead our life, no one can see the vision of that one person, or the bigger picture of their decisions. I don't think we should totally let go and separate ourselves from other people's choices, but I think sometimes what is good for one person, doesn't serve the other.)

"Sometimes you have to get to know someone really well to realize you're really strangers."--Mary Richards (It's a terrible feeling to be with someone and realize they really don't know you at all. Or you start thinking someone is this perfect fit, such genius, only to let time do it things, and through discovery you realize....so much of what you thought you knew, was all so misunderstood.)

"The most wonderful of all things in life, I believe, is the discovery of another human being with whom one's relationship has a glowing depth, beauty, and joy as the years increase. The innner progressiveness of love between two human beings is a most marvelous thing, it cannot be found by looking for it or by passionately wishing for it. It is sort of a divine accident."--Sir Hugh Walpone (Well now, isn't this what we're all looking for? Maybe it doesn't come from looking, or hoping, but I think it also includes a personal commitment to keep something alive and going. The Divine can help fate get you there, but it takes some own effort to keep it in the direction you want to take things.)


"When nothing seems to help, I go and look at a stonecutter hammering away at his rock perhaps a hundred times without as much a s crack showing in it. Yet at the 101 blow it will split in two, and I know it was not that blow that did it, but all that had gone before."--Jacob Riis (Someone needs to repeat this one to me from time to time. I'm a perfectionist. So in away, to prevent anything less than perfection....i just give up completely. Perserverance is an awesome quality, that somehow never stuck with me.)

"A teacher effects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops."--Henry Adams (So true! Isn't it amazing how there is that one or two teachers who have left huge impacts on your life. Those influences in turn, effect how you live your life, how you influence others, and so on. We need to kick out all the bad teachers now!)

"If you don't have time to do it right you must have time to do it over."-anon. (Hey, my mom would like this one!)

"A writer writes not because he is educated but because he is driven by the need to communicate. Behind the need to communicate is the need to share. Behind the need to share is the need to be understood. The writer wants to be understood much more than he wants to be respected or praised or even loved. And perhaps, this is what makes him different from others."--Leo Rosten (But maybe we all just want to be understood. I think we're all writers at some levels. Either in our heads, the way we speak, or if we physically write it down.)

"How do you know my dim-witted inexperience isn't merely a subtle form of manipulation used to lower people's expectations, thereby enhancing my ability to effectively maneuver within any given situation?"--David Arquette (Exactlty.)

"All religion, my friend, is simply evolved out of fraud, frear, greed, imagination, and poetry."--Edgar Allen Poe

(I'm not sure if I agree, but somehow everytime, I read that last word--poetry, I get this grand feeling all over me. All of religions beauty and sorrow, and spirit, and everything else. It really is all poetry. Lovely.)

"You can actually unlearn a craving for fat. Research shows this takes 8-12 weeks."--Ken Goodrick, PH.d. (Neato, huh?)


"Whenever my girlfriend is complaining about some big problem in her life I start offering here all these plans for how to deal. She wants to be consoled, but I'm acting like none of this is a big deal because it has an easy solution. Man, that pisses her off."--Steve (Yeah! So don't do that guys, just be nice, and sit there and listen--infact, you dont' even have to listen. Daydream, do anything. Just sit there, nod your head, say, "It'll be okay" and other than that be quiet and let us ramble and complain!)

"When a frenchman asks if you've seen angels [voir les anges], he's asking if you've had an orgasm." (Good to know, right?)

"We're supposed to be perfect our first day on the job, and then show constant improvement."--Ed Vargo (It's a hard and confusing life, i tell ya.)

"Happiness is different from pleasure."--George Sheehan

(Ah, so it is.)

"Be not forgetful to entertain strangers; for thereby some have entertained angels unaware."--Hebrews 13:2 (I love this! Ever hear that song "entertaining angels" it's a good one?)

"If you do not feel yourself growing in your work and life broadening and deepening, if your task is not perpetual tonic to you, then you have not found your place."--Orison Swett Marden (Finding your life's work/passion is a super biggie to me. Not fame, nor money will stand in my way. If it's paris' streets cold and hungry I lie, then so be it. I'm not going to stop until my passion is found.)

"It is books that are a key to the wide world; if you can't do anything else, read all you can."--Jane Hamilton

(Yes! REading is such a lost art. As the generations go on, there are less and less readers in the school. It's so easy for me as well to just spend my free time surfing the 'net or what not, but books are totally where it's at. I try to be reading one at all times. Right now it's: Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller-->racy! I think it was banned at one time, if you catch my drift.)

"Always do what you are afraid to do."--Ralph Waldo Emerson (Repeat this one too. I let fear get in my way far too often.)


And that finishes up my first entry of quotes. I love 'em, I keep a "commonplace" book like they used to do in the [early 18/1900's?]. You would write down quotes, or small thoughts in a book, as well as small drawings or whatever. They're pretty neat. I have tons and tons more I have packed away in a book I keep (and write every little quote i like down in.) If you think you got one that hasn't been overplayed too much, (or just plain needs to be said again) then go on over and RATE ME (see above, there's a link :) and type it on there.

And as long as you're there....lemme know if these colors are too obnoxious, or if these quotes are just super lame. But it's okay, I like 'em, and that's what this is here for:

ME

Me

ME.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty