Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Strep Throat, Acupuncture, Weight Loss

14 August 2013

Back in June I had a really awful case of strep throat. The worst of it was the fever. At one point it crossed into a migraine. A fever + migraine = some of the worst pain I've ever experienced.

At the time I was on an HMO. The "primary physician" I had selected was someone I had never seen before. My previous doctor wasn't on the HMO plan.

I remember going about my day, feeling fine. I even left work and went to the grocery store. But as I was walking around shopping I started to feel really, really bad. I went home and crawled straight to bed. I woke up the next day in misery.

A month prior to that I had a strange fever attack as well. It was just a one day thing and I woke up fine the next day. I wondered what was going on in my body. Unfortunately, when I woke up the next day this time, I was no better. By day three I was a disaster. My throat felt so thick and swollen I figured it was strep. When I called the doctor they told me the next available appointment was 8 days from then. I explained I was quite ill and my fever had reached 102 and I wasn't sure what to do. Since I was a new patient (had never actually been in to see the doctor) they didn't seem very inclined to help me out.

I understand I had no relationship with them but since I was committed to the HMO I really couldn't go anywhere else unless if they referred me. I was told they did not refer new patients. By that point I'm near tears. I tell them I'm supposed to travel a few days later...theoretically I would be out of town when the next available appointment was taking place. I was looking for some help --what, no walk-ins at all?? But I wasn't getting any help. Finally the woman I was speaking with said a nurse would call me back. No one ever did.

F-ing HMO.

The next day after the fever-migraine and the longest, most delirious night of pain ever I dragged myself to my car and drove to a "care clinic". Thank God. I knew I would have to pay out of pocket but I'm always super paranoid when I have a sore throat because if it is strep and it goes untreated it can lead to major heart problems down the line.

Mostly though, I just really, really wanted something for the pain in my head. The attendant was super nice and ran the strep test. Test came back positive. She actually recoiled when she looked in my throat initially...ha, don't think I've seen that before. Anyway, got the penicillin and it started working its magic later that day. Overall I only ended up spending $115 which is a lot but totally worth it to finally get some medicine in me. So grateful for the minute clinics and the services they provide at a reasonable rate for those paying out of pocket!

They did not give me anything for the headache but at least that evening I was able to sleep as the fever broke. The next day I was running a "temperature" --hot, but not feverish, so it was another day at home.

For basically a week I was put out and was not eating much. I lost 4 pounds. I figured once my health was back they would creep back on but they didn't. Crazy, right? At least there was an upside to all of that ;-)


In July I started acupuncture. I found a low cost provider that actually made it an option. I've tried acupuncture before for the migraines. It was probably back in 2004-2005. Unfortunately, the treatment didn't work but I did leave each session feeling buoyant. I also, randomly, lost weight. I ended up stopping treatment because it was so expensive but always thought I would try it again.

I am primarily going this time because I wanted to try it out as an infertility treatment. I also thought she might be able to do some work on my ongoing/lingering side pain issue that started back in 2010 and has caused all kinds of problems with my running.

She's been sticking a ton of needles in me. She seems determined to reduce my migraines in addition to my "wiry" heart. Good luck with that. She is also doing points for fertility, digestion, and a host of other things.

Again, no change in the migraines. Or the heart. I'm pretty sure those things are interlinked. Based on my "google doctor" research I think I have a deeper dysfunction in my nervous system which is causing both. But anyway.

No luck in the infertility issue so far. At least, no period to speak of. She's also pumping me full of herbs. And normally I'm all about that but the weekly acupuncture + weekly herbs is starting to get pricey. I told her I was committed to treatment for three months so we'll see.

The upside? I'm losing weight again! Without doing anything different. It really is crazy. Maybe I have "heavy chi" and with everything unblocked it's all letting go. That was me just making stuff up. I have no idea why this would occur. But I'm down another three pounds.

I have a thin/athletic build and am tall and usually wear my weight in all the right places. As I've gotten older I have gained some weight. So while I didn't "need" to lose weight, I of course, wouldn't mind losing a few pounds like everyone else and their mom.

I currently weigh less than I did at my wedding! And if I lose just three pounds more I'll be at my college graduation weight. It's blowing my mind. I've pulled out pairs of pants that I haven't worn in a long time and everything just FITS.

I'm thinking its the acupuncture or possibly the herbs but I don't think the herbs were supposed to make me lose weight. What I can't figure out is how this is working because I haven't changed my diet nor added any major mileage to my routine. I suppose, for all the money I'm spending, it's nice to see some benefit!






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty