Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Leaving on a Jet Plane.....to Argentina (but with Karl?!)

20 October 2004

So did I tell you...I''m going to Argentina! As always, Jeff and I talk about taking a trip somewhere, especially now that we have been at our jobs for a year we now qualify for paid vacation. Since we've been living at home we both had the money to take a really cool trip. We talk all the time about different places (really since the beginning of our relationship) and I'm pretty much ready to book a trip and pack my bags when we discussed all of them but they never panned into anything.

Jeff has a "friend" he knows from online dialogues. He is someone who is involved with the underground music scene and who he is impressively connected with. Anyway, the friend is from Buenos Aires although he now lives in California (supposedly, anyway ;) He was saying how it's a great place to visit, especially now with the exchange rate being so great. Everything is really cheap from hotels to clothes....the only thing that you'll spend the money on is the flight down there.

I don't remember exactly how the conversation started about actually making the trip but somehow we stumbled across a *really* good package deal online and it kind of looked like we were really going to go. Somewhere along all this I find out this his friend Karl is also going. [Okay...].

I've known Karl as long as I've known Jeff and he's no stranger but I've never felt comfortable around him, even after all this time, and as I've admitted before, I don't really care for him. I think he's a jerk. He reminds me of your cliched fraternity boy. Takes longer than a girl to get ready, sleeps around, makes jokes that are funny...but only because he's making fun of other people, comes from money or at least came from a good upbringing (not that there's anything inherently bad about that, but...), and takes care of his body to the point it's flashy (and he'll wear the muscle tee or a trendy A&F "I'm too tight" shirt to show those pecs off).

I don't find him particularly good looking but I suppose there must be some charm to him as others do. Ugh, he actually kind of disgusts me if I think about it.

And Jeff adores him. I mean, he's his best friend! And wow can Karl make him laugh. He makes Jeff laugh to tears so of course...I would adore him too if it had the same effect, i'm sure!

Karl is funny. He's definitely a winner in the quick wit department. But, most of his humor is poking fun at people (although, sometimes himself as well). It's not that I'm at the butt of his jokes (although, I probably am at some point!) but it just doesn't show good character to me. The fact that Jeff likes that and finds it funny bothers me. Karl could be intelligent but I wouldn't know. I just feel very awkward around him and it shows.

It's easier for me to avoid him or to go mute than to try to work with what he throws out there. I just feel very...in the way when we're around each other. I can still remember one of the first times I was ever at the fraternity house. Jeff and I had really only been dating for a couple of months over the summer and fall quarter had just begun. Jeff and Karl were painting their room and Jeff invited me over. I don't know why....if I wasn't going to paint, really, what good use was it?

Although I had joined a sorority by this point I was still in my beginning stages and was not "skilled" in the sorority ways. I was also a (and always will be) a jeans and a tee kind of a girl if we're just hanging out. I can't count the number of times girls would come over to the fraternity house to hang out decked out in their "sexy jeans" with full face of make-up, etc. I'm there with no make-up, a ponytail, probably a dumb department store tee and my everyday jeans (which, come to think of, the sorority girls probably didn't even own ;)

Haha, argh, those girls would make me feel so insecure! But I always felt I was an attractive girl, and I'm not going to change to try to please all these people. Going Greek does make you dress better. Or at least make you more aware of your inability to dress well ;) Haha, even Jeff admitted he had to do a wardrobe overhaul after joining.

Anyway, back to Karl.....I have no idea what he thinks of me. I figured, from the very beginning I was viewed as this sloppy, boring girl that never went out and never talked. I don't think I would care for me either if that's all to go on! Jeff and I used to get high with him and I always felt....very unwanted and bad for him having to share his weed with me. I mean, he couldn't exactly deny me but he'd want to get high with Jeff and there I would be tagging along.

It could all very well be in my head. But I can't imagine he has a good opinion of me. We three did take a skiing trip together this winter. It seemed to go...okay. But, I guess when you're skiing you don't really have to talk that much.

Plus, we went on a *really* cold weekend. I have low blood pressure and tend to get cold easily. I also did not have proper "ski clothes" (did I mention the money thing??) as they did so I probably wasn't equipped to handle it to begin with. But I had to take frequent breaks to warm up while they skiied. I lost feeling in my toes and hands a couple of times and it was not pleasant. I think Jeff felt tugged between trying to please me and go inside or going a couple of more times down a hill with Karl.

I didn't need him to come inside with me and never asked him to, but I think you still find that obligation to do so. I keep telling myself and others when the "third wheel" thing of this trip comes up and I just flash a smile and say "oh, we've been friends as long as Jeff and I have known each other, it'll be fine!" Others nod their ahead and agree we'll have a great time and I'm sure it'll go fine. And it could.

But there are going to be losers in this situation. Either Jeff is in the best position or the worst. Does he please the girl or the best friend? Jeff and I tend to get testy when we travel together. We're both stubborn which is a big problem. I actually consider us both very laid back and flexible but that can be a bad thing. We're so likely to say, "whatever you want" that it can be hard for a decision to be made. Or there will be times where it's obvious one or the other are leaning towards something, but then we submit to doing what the "other" person wants to do.

And no one wants to be doing something they want...if the other person is internally cranky about it. That's what really causes the problems. And for the most part, we both don't really care....but we care enough to be slightly cranky about it. ;) Ha.

So, since Jeff REFUSES to plan anything (and I'm a meeting planner so you can only imagine the craziness this causes me) we will arrive in B.A. not knowing a thing and probably bickering about what to do or not to do. Karl is rather well traveled (which I think, is why he's coming, b/c he's always looking for a good opportunity to go somewhere new--can't blame him), so hopefully he'll help lead the way.

There are definitely things I'll have to give up (B.A. is the tango capital of the world--I wouldn't mind taking a little lesson or taking in a dance--that is NOT going to happen with Karl there!!). I am *extremely* picky about my food, so being in another country will be interesting. I have a hard time settling on a restaurant when we're looking at an English menu here in our own city. I also like to eat and if I don't I will be cranky.

I think if Jeff could pop a pill in the morning and not eat all day he would be happy. I like sitting down to a meal and enjoying all that food has to offer. I also do not do well on skipped meals and I will frequently catch Jeff where he hasn't ate in 24 hours (I do not get it!).

Most of all, this could have been a great trip just for US. We've never been on a trip like this where we wouldn't know anybody and we would have to rely on each other. I was hoping it would be some good relationship time....and, sex!

Haha, poor Karl, because we will be having sex I'm sure...but he's going to be in the same room with us. Well...if we can have sex in a dormer with a bunch of other people sleeping in the same room then one other guy shouldn't be too much a big deal (la la la...).







My unconscious must be concerned about the Karl thing b/c I had a dream a couple of days ago that Karl cornered me to have a sit down talk. He basically spelled it out that he didn't like me, that he didn't understand why Jeff was dating me and that we would just have to suffer as best as we could through the trip and to please not talk to him if I could help it. I woke up...so hurt. I mean, I felt, crushed, really as if I had been slapped in the face.

I mean, sure I have those thoughts---but to just come out and tell me, the balls! Haha, but it *was* just a dream, but it felt real enough that I feel that more uncomfortable around him. I'm trying to think of a strategy to make this work. I figure, I've set up this bubble of weirdness between us--or at least kept up that wall even if he's attempted to pull it down (if he has, I was unware) and I have an opportunity to really show my true colors.

I'm trying to think how I interact with other boys...and, er, the ones I DO get along with I can flirt with. The ones I do not or for whatever reason feel as if I cannot flirt with...they're on the bad list :-)

The thought of flirting with Karl makes me gross out like a teenage girl but I suppose I could try. I guess flirt is the wrong word...not necessarily trying to come on to a guy, just being comfortable showing a more playful, interactive side of yourself. Karl makes me shut down and pull myself into a ball...the exact opposite of a fun, flirty, outgoing girl.

So, just as with confidence...it's best to fake it. I fake confidence all the time and surprisingly it works. It's almost kind of thrilling b/c you're scared of being just out there but it usually builds upon itself until you truly are whatever you're trying to be.

So, I'll just need to really try hard. I feel like....part of the problem is I have nothing to say to Karl. If we have something in common (er, other than yes, he does have the best smoke around) I don't know what it is. I am not witty like him....in fact, my comments usually lead into a quick come back for something smart to say. It's exhausting...I don't want to be on "joke" mode all the time. I don't know if I'm expressing his personality correctly.

I love people that joke around...and people that are always funny...all the time, I love 'em, yes as Jeff adores Karl I adore the "class clown" too. So why don't I adore Karl? I just feel like he's a fake. Whether it's true or not I feel like he's stuck on himself.

And yeaaa, I get to spend 10 days with him! I am disappointed. I don't want to take a trip with him...especially with no other girl support. I don't want Jeff to feel tugged in two directions, I don't want to feel like everything we do is just a compromise to do whatever Karl or Jeff may want to. You know, if something is going right I know Jeff is going to be sensitive to that and let me just be myself. But I won't "feel at home" to just be myself. If I want to stop and see something....I may ask even if I knew Jeff may not be crazy about the idea...but there's no way I'll ask if Karl & Jeff are both there.

I wouldn't want to be a bother or a complainer (which I am :) around him. And yes, I get tired early, which I'm going to try really, really hard to stay out late and drink (haha, doesn't that sound funny?) but I can't promise it'll work.

I mean if I'm tired, or if I feel sick because I drank too quickly or too much....how do you fake through that? Well, I usually don't. I *DO* want to go out...I'm in B.A.!! I don't want to stay in, I want to see and do as much as I can to get my vacation and money worth but....it does suck with Karl going. You know, assuming I feel safe and okay with it, I have no problem taking myself home. Yes, I am a female but I feel okay about taking care of myself. I mean, if I were attacked, no, I probably couldn't defend myself beyond any general resistance I may put up....but I hate when someone feels obligated to walk you home or take you home...just because.

I don't want other people to have to leave a bar if they're having fun...just because I'm not.

I guess we'll see.






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty