Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

"Up in Here", Sigma Chi-Monday, dance,drink, coach jeff

11 May 2000

Lovely d-landers, I'm afraid my actually having a life, has prevented me from pensive, philsophical musings, diaryland surfings, and unfortunately blockading my previous April prolific writings from continuing on into May. But no doubt, these things shall end soon.

La la la, funny thing is, cuz when you're busy doing stuff, the more things you have to write about. The more you want to write down and record, to think about, but the less time you have to actually do it. So in the end you're left with this hole of days where you were actually doing stuff. Kind of ironic really.

I hate that word: ironic. Ugly phonetically, in away I can't explain. Probably Alanis did it with that "Isn't it Ironic" song. Did you notice, that all those things she called "ironic" weren't really ironic things....they were all just, well, bummers if you will.


"Ya'll gonna make me lose my mind, (up in here, up in here). Ya'll gon, make me go all out, (up in here, up in here). Ya'll gon, make me act a fool, (up in here, up in here.) Ya'll gon, make me lose my cool!"

Hehe. That's my new fave song. Reminds me of spring break, reminds me of dancing. I'm not a rap girl, but I luv it.


Where to start? I hate retracing stuff. I'll start here and go back, okay? Or maybe not. I'll start from the beginning. ;)

This is "Sigma Chi's Derby Days" week. I have no idea what that means. :)

Basically, it's their philanthropy to raise money for kids with cancer. Based on sororities participation and attendance, each person gives them money to be a part of it. And "it" in itself is a designated night during the week, that is supposed to have a theme and pre-party. But everynight there is an after-hours party. (Just a post midnight party that a fraternity holds.)

In a random move, as i mentioned in another entry I believe, i joked that me and this other girl should go every night, because we're both pretty "good" in the sense that we don't go out during week days. (Except you know, Thursday & Friday...me being one to not go out even until Friday cuz I have an 8:30 the next morning after all....)

So, we decide to do it. I'm back and forth if I really want to test myself on that. I'm pretty good with no-sleep endurance. I've always been more of a night person, and I can reasonably adapt to the conditions and work my time wisely to get in naps, as well as get as much as I can do during the day, and manage other wise some how if I don't get something done. ;)


So it's Monday night. I'm exhausted. I know I surely do not want to go out. I don't even dress up at all. I'm in jeans and a tank top, and when we get to the house, everyone is doing the black pants/skirts/capris, and a little dressier tops or what not, and i'm like "word up, here i am." hahah, anyway.

We're walking to Sigma Chi, and I'm practically dragging my feet. I'm telling myself that I'll stay there at least until 12:30 no matter what and if I can endure it (ha, what the torture? ;) until 1:00 I'll try my hardest, and no matter what I'll just leave then. So we get closer, and I see the flashing lights from the basement, and the music is pounding out of the house and all of a sudden, I'm awake!

So I'm already dancing, go in the house, and I'm quickly in an upbeat mood, dancing happily. (I love to dance. :) And everyone is getting their beers and such, and I think, hmmm. I wasn't planning on drinking...but only because I wasn't planning on staying long. And i'm not one to drink one beer and just chill. If I'm going to drink I want to enjoy (as I constantly say...my calories) to their fullest potential. So I ask Heidi, "Should I drink?"--of course, if I had to ask for "permission" we can already guess it's too late for me! And of course she tells me too, so i'm skipping my way on into the "beer room" to grab my delicious (yeah right) beer.

I take it fast and I'm on to my next one. I realize after my second, I'm already pleasantly buzzing, which is excellent. I had forgotten that drinking fast did that. So two beers and I'm already set for my night, I thought--great! So we dance. And we dance. Loving it all of course. Playing a bunch of great songs, we're all groovin' down. They even play that new Alice Deejay song. (Thanks Ladiebug!.) So I'm having a grand time, and all of those conversations about trying to live on "E" --even when you're not on it in these high energy social situations, are of course playing their influence, and I'm looking around, trying to find someone who would like to be my "new best friend" (I love meeting new people, and introducing myself to strangers, I know--I'm weird! But no fear, ya know?!)

I have no gender preferences when it comes to "hellos" just to be friendly, but since we are partying with the greeks, and the music is really too loud to talk anyway, it's always a safer gamble to approach a guy instead of a girl. I mean, if a girl came up to me and started trying to chat while I was dancing, I would be like, "what the hell!" But if a guy came up...well, all the merrier. :) So i'm looking, I'm looking...

I spot, our "coach" (I have no idea why we have coaches from Sigma Chi, I mean, coach us on what? I guess...maybe it's so we have someone, who tries to get us pumped to go to their afterhours, and help us "win" the, uh, derby, or something. :) I didn't really meet him before, but I have seen him. He came to one of our monday night dinners, and he has this cute Beck thing going on. Just slightly, slightly alternateenish, with some floppy dark hair, dark eyes, and just on the fringe of preppy altenative clothing--I don't know if that makese sense to you, but whatever. But totally my type. A little lanky, a bit taller than me.

He's wearing this baseball cap, that looks really good on him, and I decide who not better to approach than someone who is already connected to the Fuzzies, anyway, right? So I'm keeping my eye on him--he's hanging on the wall, so I figure I'll just go up to him and kind of joke with him to come out dancing. That's what we're all there to do anyway!

But he comes to me--sort of. ;) He comes over to all us dancing a little bit later, and says they have shots (liquor) upstairs if we want it. For some reason I hang out with these girls who are "hard liquor" scaries, so I'm looking at them, looking at him, and I can't decide what to do. Ever hear of that, "beer before liquor, never been sicker?" haha, so I don't want to make that mistake, as well as the fact that I'm doing pretty good on my two beers, why go on? On the other hand, I'm a liquor lover, opposed to a beer, uh, yucker (for a lack of better words, la la.)

He can tell I'm thinking it over, and he's just like, "C'mon!" (Oh what the fu..) So we're off and galloping up the stairs. Um, if you can gallop up stairs. ;) and we go into this room on the upper level of the house that just has this huge "PTA table" covered in these dixie cups filled with a variety of liquids and some guy at the front like "yeah." LOL, I dunno, really, but I just remember standing there, kind of, umm..I can't explain it. Sort of like the bartender coaxing you on to take one, but, well anyway.

So Jeff is all like, "I'll match you." (Wha--my whole one or two? okay, buddy.) My first one is clear. It's not vodka, I know that--good thing too, seriously spring break probably ruined vodka for me for life, la la! But it was alright, and then another girl recommends this "butterscotch" like one on the far left. So I'm like, hmm, should I do it, so soon after my first? Hey, I try to learn from my past mistakes, remember my Rum experience?

But I go ahead and do it. It's alright.


Back down stairs, off and on dancing. He's such a cutie. He has this fun little dancing face, and kind of this playing around dancing, it's just adorable.

Thankfully, I've got my "rap" dancing back. Hee, me and the techno take a break, and I'm all good to go. I love techno of course, but I was happy to not be so uncomfortable just dancing "normal". Heidi helps. She's a great dancer. I miss my alpha Xi prez, cuz she has this move when she gets really drunk that is so awesome. I started adopting it to my "routine" but I have no idea what it looks like, me doing it and such. Ya'll gonna, make me look a fool (up in here, up in here!)

So life is good, yadda yadda, and I'm outside chillin' with Jeffrey--ha, did I just call him Jeffrey? Anyway, hanging out and talking, cooling off, and then Heidi comes outside and finds me and tells me they're ready to go, so I leave.

That was Monday.


Tuesday involes much more "reflective" ponderings, so I'll save it to later, okay? And Wendesday just sucked, but today I had a great/interesting convo with the best friend, so check back, and I'll keep you updated. :)






Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty