Aglaia | Click to view my profile.

Latest Entry Older Entries Old Journal (HS, Early College) Send E-Mail Aglaia's Survey Read/Sign Dreambook

Running, weight, and journaling

03 December 2007

Two days in a row. I know, it's pretty amazing.

I weighed myself and took measurements today. I haven't done that in a long time so I figured it was time to see how I was doing. I was happy with the scale...not that it was a number I particularly wanted but I have a threshold number and once I've passed that it always bums me out. So, I'm under the threshold which is pretty good for not eating right or working out. La la la...

I've been eating without paying attention to portions or calories and sadly have become BFF with the candy drawer at work so I'm thrilled I haven't gained any weight! Haha, not sure how I did that seeing as I haven't worked out or ran in forever either but you know....

I'll just figure my four hour hike around Machu Picchu must still be burning calories even two weeks later. Ha.

I did actually go to the gym today. I love that I can still run. There's something scary about stepping on that treadmill and wondering how it will go. Of course, I feel that way even if I'm running everyday. I can never figure out why some days it feels great and I can run far and smooth and other days I'm three miles out and my legs are cramping up and I'm so out of breath.

Water, diet and sleep. I know it all comes back to those three things but it doesn't always seem consistent.

I really don't like running but there is something enchanting about having a regimen. I especially like the idea of being an athlete in training. For the half-marathon I had a goal, there were progressive stages I had to pass (mini-goals) and the planning and commitment it took to finish each stage was deeply satisfying.

It was also a whole lot healthier focusing on what I could put into my body to make me a better runner than worrying about calories in/out.

Oh, and how running for "long" stretches just thrilled me. Each time I ran 6,7,8 + miles I would come back just so....proud. I mean, really proud. I'm sure Jeff got sick of me bragging about it but I wasn't bragging for kudos I was bragging out of my own personal amazement.

Six miles still seems like a lot.

Hell, four seems like a lot. Haha.







I am definitely going to run a marathon in 2008. The only question now is deciding where to run it. It seems silly to NOT run in Chicago when this is a destination in itself and I'm right here but the idea of going to NYC or going back home where my parents can root me on is really appealing. Plus, my dad used to run a lot (including the marathon) when he was younger so I think it would be a meaningful experience to have shared the same streets with my father and to have him there to see me finish.

Plus, having the pressure of knowing my parents would be around would be beneficial in two ways. When you're really struggling there's nothing like having your parents there to support you AND I would want to make them proud by doing well and not giving up when things got tough.

Not that I would give up. Unless if I was having heat stroke and throwing up or pulled a muscle I would finish. I can't imagine just not finishing. Not once I started.

Plus, I would never show up unprepared for a race like that. Perhaps not as prepared as I would like but prepared enough to get through it.

I'm trying to motivate Jeff to do it with me. I never even thought about running a marathon until he started encouraging me to do it. He said it was one of his life dreams and he figured if I could train for a half I could keep training to finish the "real" one. Initially I thought he was crazy. Maybe because the half-marathon was my first race it was just too much to consider.

Plus, when one is still awed by finishing five miles...the idea of 26.2 is sort of....imaginary almost. And, perhaps once I start training I'll realize how absolutely crazy it all really is.

Right now Jeff is resisting the idea. I don't get why he doesn't grab onto this. It's something he wants to do (one day) and it's something we could train for together. Doesn't that sound nice? :)

I would definitely run a fall marathon. The difficulty is my Annual Meeting comes in September. It brings a lot of extra stress and longer work days. Getting out to run is hard when you've had a long day, you're not sleeping well, and all you really want to do is go home and relax.

For better or worse, this year I just didn't put in those longer hours. I knew after a certain time in the day if I left late I wouldn't be running. Part of it is the traffic too. If I leave at the wrong time I have a long commute. So, I get to work by 6:15 AM in the morning and usually that means leaving early too. The nice thing is, working "late" means I'm still out of there at a reasonable time. The bad thing is, when I leave when the majority of people do, my commute is easily an hour and potentially longer.

All that driving really saps the energy out of me. Did I mention I get to work at 6:15 AM? That means I leave my house at 5:45 and my alarm clock goes off at 4:50 AM. I'm tired a lot...which doesn't make for a good run.

And, once I get past the basic training it seems silly to go for a run shorter than 6 miles. And that was for a half-marathon. I imagine I would progress further to where I was out for an "easy" 10+ miler. All that running takes up a lot of time. Then, you come home, shower, make dinner, etc. and it's late.

For me, bedtime comes unfortunately very, very early. So there's not a whole lot of night when you're doing that.

People who have children and still do this....I think you're crazy. I do not see how you can do it!

But, I'm still looking forward to it. I'm hoping to get back in a little more shape so that I can push out 5-6 miles without thinking about it. I'll probably do that on a treadmill for the rest of winter until February where I'll really kick in the training. I would love to be able to do a half-marathon sometime in the late spring, and maybe another with the big Chicago one then possibly go home in October for the biggie.

If I was smart I would use these next two months to get into basic shape and really focus strength training. Once I start running I have a really hard time doing anything else. I know that strength training and cross training would be helpful but when you train for a race you sort of get ultra-focused on the miles and the times and you hate to take a day out to go and do something else when you really feel like you need to put in the miles.

Plus, when I strength train I go all out (or what's the point) and I'm sore for days and it's probably not a good idea to put a good, hard run when your legs are still trying to recover and heal.







I've been journaling since the third grade. It's pretty amazing to watch yourself grow. Sometimes the entries make me cringe and it's hard for me to remember a time or a person that thought that way. I have been online journaling since December 1998. I have always tried to be very open and frank and write for myself and not others and that includes not limiting myself or my thoughts. I would say a good majority of my entries make me think (yikes!) and I laugh about how immature I am or shake my head with disbelief with just how open I really am. But, it's been fun and I'm glad I've had the chance to document different pieces of myself.

I used to go back and report back on what I was journaling X years ago all the way back since I've been posting online. Now, I find I'm a little embarrassed with my writing and so maybe I'll just pick one or two to share. They may be for me but even I don't want to bore myself!

Four years ago, December 11, 2003 I was freshly in a new job out, out of college and thinking about a little bit of everything.







Hosted by Diaryland

Sign the Guestbook (Site is down)

Sign the NEW Guestbook

Random Entry Generator

Aglaia's Diaryland Picks

Template by Marty